Meringue II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Super easy and perfect my first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pwrmom09
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I increased the serving size until i got to the amount of extra egg whites I had left over from my Lemon part of a Lemon Meringue Pie (Grandmas Lemon Meringue Pie recipe)...I just figured it would make extra Meringue. From there I followed the directions exactly. What could go wrong with extra meringue right??? It is SOOOOO good (browning right now). My only pause was how long did it take to get the cornstarch mixture clear. It never really did turn clear but it did turn VERY thick. But it was super smooth so I continued to follow the recipe and seems like all is perfect. This meringue taste NOTHING like other meringue. I may never use cool whip again...it is THAT good. Not to mention how fun it is to mix up with my Kitchen Aid Mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pwrmom09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marksville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I might have done something wrong, but it wasn't the melt-in-your-mouth bubbly fluff that I expected from meringue. It was more (both in texture and flavor, but I most likely messed up on the texture) like whipped marshmallow topping. It was still really good! But it ended up making my pie a bit too rich since I already made the filling super sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Fantastic. I didn't quite use all the sugar, and I made the recipe set to 10 servings and I used 5 egg whites.. Simply amazing and it didn't weep!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
It took me a lot longer than I thought to make this - I, like some others thought I had done something wrong at one point, but it turns out great. I had hubby put my chocolate pie in the oven for about the last 5 minutes of meringue beating because I was worried that it was cooling off too much, I wanted a good seal on a hot pie. When meringue was ready, I took the pie out of the oven, put the beautiful meringue on and sealed to the edges well. After baking, it was beautiful - I thought I would cry! After 5 hours though, the meringue separated from the crust completely - before the Birthday boy had a chance to see its beauty! I was devastated - UNTIL - we tasted it. Heavenly taste. No weeping, just some shrinking. While eating the pie, we all voted, and decided if I couldnt figure out how to fix the shrinking next time - We didnt care. Love the flavor and texture of this meringue - Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mydawnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Not the light, airy and fluffy topping I was expecting but better tasting than I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I will never put whipped cream on my banana pudding again! It holds up in the fridge and keeps my pudding from turning to soup the way whipped cream does. Not only that but I took it to a ppotluck and didnt have to keep it refridgerated until the last minute like whipped topping. Its as good as it gets and sooo easy! I add a little blackwalnut extract and then topped with toasted walnuts and it got rave reviews. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi
Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is truely a worry free meringue.... it set up so beautifully... I am pretty sure this recipe is fool proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
was okay- lost some of the peaks when adding the starch/water/sugar mixture....but like this version from the one I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Awesome! This was the first meringue I ever made and everyone said that it looked and tasted like a pro made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States