Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Wow!! This was my first time making meringues, as they always kind of intimidated me before. But the recipe was SO easy, and the cookies turned out *perfect*!! I tripled the recipe except for the chocolate chips (only put in a cup and a half). They really are just the right amount crisp and chewy. You must beat the egg whites for a long time, until they produce stiff peaks and turn glossy. But bake these with confidence -- you won't be disappointed! Thanks for sharing, Pat K.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I made this one day when I was craving cookies. I did not have any chocolate chips, but I did have Mini Heath bars, so I chopped them up and added instead. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
There are so many versions of this cookie. The trick to avoid the chewy center is to turn the oven off and keep them in the oven for a couple of more hours. These are also called "overnght cookies" because you can preheat the oven at 350 deg., then shut it off, put in the cookies, and keep them in overnight. I sprayed my cookie sheets with generic pam and they slid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
My boyfriend told me he had this cookie just once or twice, but they were always his favorites, so I decided to make them one day. I'd actually tried once before, but they didn't turn out right, so I was a little nervous to try again. It turns out that you have to beat them after you put the sugar in, too! My mom told me that, after a bit of a giggle. After I remade them and beat them til they were very stiff with the sugar in it, they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
They are crispy crunchy and creamy all at the same time!!!! They are Great For everyday cooking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I made these cookies and they were wonderful! I added one packet of raspberry jello mix to the recipe so they turned out pink and had a hint of raspberry flavoring!these cookies are a great summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Good recipe. Some helpful hints. Grease cookie sheets then lay either parchment paper or cut to fit brown grocery bag type paper and spray the paper with cooking spray. Use the mini chocolate chips for these cookies. Do not make on a humid day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
i had never made meringues before and had great luck! these are very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is the exact recipe I've been using since 7th grade taught to me by a teacher in the late 60's. We were told we could use brown paper bags cut to the size of the cookie sheet. These are cookies that should be made very small about 1/2 tsp of batter, they will cook up great at 325 for 25 mins. This is a recipe I wouldn't give up for anything and always get great comments as well as people who want it. Always been happy to share it. It has served me well over these 40+ year. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I made these for a friend who had been asking for them for a long time. They turned out great, although I thought they were a little too sweet, but she said they were exactly like she remembered having as a kid, so a big thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States