Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
There are so many versions of this cookie. The trick to avoid the chewy center is to turn the oven off and keep them in the oven for a couple of more hours. These are also called "overnght cookies" because you can preheat the oven at 350 deg., then shut it off, put in the cookies, and keep them in overnight. I sprayed my cookie sheets with generic pam and they slid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This is a very good recipe. One reviewer had trouble, but I think it was her technique, or possibly the weather! Meringues are sometimes difficult to do. Some tips: 1) never use a plastic bowl to mix in, 2) be sure there's no oil or butter (or shortening, etc) on your utensils or bowl, 3) as the recipe says, be sure the egg whites are VERY firm before you start adding sugar, and don't stop beating the sugar/eggwhites until you can make peaks that don't fall down, 4) if you just can't get good peaks, it may be too humid in your house--put your merigue on a pie & try the cookies another day. I like to make these cookies in the evening. You can preheat your oven to 275, put the cookies in, turn the oven OFF, and leave them until morning! They'll be perfectly cooked. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I made these cookies and they were wonderful! I added one packet of raspberry jello mix to the recipe so they turned out pink and had a hint of raspberry flavoring!these cookies are a great summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Wow!! This was my first time making meringues, as they always kind of intimidated me before. But the recipe was SO easy, and the cookies turned out *perfect*!! I tripled the recipe except for the chocolate chips (only put in a cup and a half). They really are just the right amount crisp and chewy. You must beat the egg whites for a long time, until they produce stiff peaks and turn glossy. But bake these with confidence -- you won't be disappointed! Thanks for sharing, Pat K.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
These cookies came out great! Parchment paper was no problem at all! My only dilemma was telling if they were done or not. I actually baked these cookies for 30-35 minutes because the first batch at 25 minutes (recommended by author)still seemed gooey inside. I know they should be somewhat chewy, but they were a bit too moist still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
My boyfriend told me he had this cookie just once or twice, but they were always his favorites, so I decided to make them one day. I'd actually tried once before, but they didn't turn out right, so I was a little nervous to try again. It turns out that you have to beat them after you put the sugar in, too! My mom told me that, after a bit of a giggle. After I remade them and beat them til they were very stiff with the sugar in it, they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I'm pretty sure the reviewer had a problem because you specified "white sugar" which she interpreted as "confectioner's sugar" instead of "granulated sugar". Use granulated sugar in this recipe and it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHNH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I tried this recipe TWICE but to no avail! I don't know what the problem is. The first time, when I added the sugar after beating the whites, the batter became as creamy as pancake batter! It was useless. I cooked it anyway and scraped off what I could. The 2nd time, I VERY CAREFULLY added the sugar, and it did get visibly more creamy, but at least I could spoon it on the baking sheet. However they stuck to the baking sheet like there was no tomorrow. I use non-stick cookware too. I wasn't sure if I should spray the pan first or not, but since the recipe didn't call for it, I didn't do it. Two strikes is an 'out' for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
They are crispy crunchy and creamy all at the same time!!!! They are Great For everyday cooking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Dang! I didn't do it right. I love these cookies but next time, I will FOLLOW directions! I used eggwhites in a carton for starters, then, Spenda instead of sugar. It looked as if they would turn out, but they are too chewy. Great recipe, I will try again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States