Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
They are crispy crunchy and creamy all at the same time!!!! They are Great For everyday cooking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I tried this recipe TWICE but to no avail! I don't know what the problem is. The first time, when I added the sugar after beating the whites, the batter became as creamy as pancake batter! It was useless. I cooked it anyway and scraped off what I could. The 2nd time, I VERY CAREFULLY added the sugar, and it did get visibly more creamy, but at least I could spoon it on the baking sheet. However they stuck to the baking sheet like there was no tomorrow. I use non-stick cookware too. I wasn't sure if I should spray the pan first or not, but since the recipe didn't call for it, I didn't do it. Two strikes is an 'out' for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
My family loves these. Bake on parchment and there will be no sticking. Watch the time they should not be brown. They do not keep for more than 1 or two days, that is if there is any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This is a very good recipe. One reviewer had trouble, but I think it was her technique, or possibly the weather! Meringues are sometimes difficult to do. Some tips: 1) never use a plastic bowl to mix in, 2) be sure there's no oil or butter (or shortening, etc) on your utensils or bowl, 3) as the recipe says, be sure the egg whites are VERY firm before you start adding sugar, and don't stop beating the sugar/eggwhites until you can make peaks that don't fall down, 4) if you just can't get good peaks, it may be too humid in your house--put your merigue on a pie & try the cookies another day. I like to make these cookies in the evening. You can preheat your oven to 275, put the cookies in, turn the oven OFF, and leave them until morning! They'll be perfectly cooked. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Wow!! This was my first time making meringues, as they always kind of intimidated me before. But the recipe was SO easy, and the cookies turned out *perfect*!! I tripled the recipe except for the chocolate chips (only put in a cup and a half). They really are just the right amount crisp and chewy. You must beat the egg whites for a long time, until they produce stiff peaks and turn glossy. But bake these with confidence -- you won't be disappointed! Thanks for sharing, Pat K.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I made this one day when I was craving cookies. I did not have any chocolate chips, but I did have Mini Heath bars, so I chopped them up and added instead. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
These are good and went over really well at work! I liked them, but they seemed a tad bit chewy. Maybe they're supposed to be like that, but that's not how I remembered them as a kid. BUT still very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIEGRETL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
My boyfriend told me he had this cookie just once or twice, but they were always his favorites, so I decided to make them one day. I'd actually tried once before, but they didn't turn out right, so I was a little nervous to try again. It turns out that you have to beat them after you put the sugar in, too! My mom told me that, after a bit of a giggle. After I remade them and beat them til they were very stiff with the sugar in it, they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I made these cookies and they were wonderful! I added one packet of raspberry jello mix to the recipe so they turned out pink and had a hint of raspberry flavoring!these cookies are a great summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
the meringue was good but the chocolate chips ruined it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States