Menudo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This is a great recipe. I am Mexican and would only like to improve this recipe a little. Here goes. First the tripe, before boiling we usually remove all the fat and bring to a boil very very slowly about 4hrs for the same serving as this recipe calls for. For the chili two or three dried red chili peppers are placed in a blender with some of the broth from the tripe and onions, pinch of salt and blend away. This is then mixed with the tripe simer a little longer and serve with the trimings. My MoM showed me this and friends and my family can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
this was really good. no complaints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
A good Menudo recipe. I used beef ribs instead of beef feet. I cooked the tripe before adding salt and didn't add the beef ribs until the tripe was nearly done. For extra heat, a couple cans of hot diced green chiles. I added a 12oz can of spicy V8 juice for a more tomato background. My Hispanic friends allowed that it was great Menudo. A pretty good compliment for an Anglo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Hi this dish is really good! I'm Mexican and personally in my family never use the hominy in this, that's for the Pozole, and one tip for kill the smell of the tripe, before bowling wash with water and lemon or lime juice, and bowling the tripe only with onion and garlic, we usually add the salt until the sauce is ready, and the longest you cook the tripe is the best. Other spice we use in it is the epazote is a herb, is really good. Ones ready for eat add some chopped onion and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This recipe can be 5 stars, with a few other changes in addition to the others. I added 1T salt, 1/2T black pepper, 1T oregano, and 2T regular chili powder, and simmered for 2 hours. Add onion and 6-8 cloves minced garlic. Next (IMPORTANT FOR "REAL" RED COLOR AND TASTE OF MENUDO), broil 5 large chile arbol peppers for two minutes, and grind ultra-fine in a regular blender with 6-8 chile japones. Add to tripe mix, and simmer for another 2-3 hours. Add hominy and simmer again. Serve with mix of onion, cilantro, and lime. My husband could not BELIEVE the taste, and rich color, of this menudo. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
i like to add knorr tomato boullion, garlic, and pigs feet to mine. the longer you cook the better. good basic recipe. really good comfort food on cold drizzly nights and even better for hangovers so i'm told!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I'm a fan of Menudo but I felt this needed something such as Mexican oregano. I did use chile de arbol powder in this recipe. To render some of the fat from the tripe I did boil it by itself with some lime slices then rinsed and added to the Menudo to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
You leave out one of the most important steps...CLEAN the tripe well!! How it tastes depends a LOT on how well u clean the tripe. Also, I'm more fond of yellow hominy than white, and another important part is u MUST add besides the onions on top of the soup, is some oregano. With the corn tortillas, it is sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, California, USA
Living In: Penn Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
I followed the advice of boiling the tripe and then replacing the water and it really made a HUGE difference in reducing the smell. I did add more chili powder than called for and I put oregano in also. I minced an entire bulb of garlic and chopped up a whole onion and also added 5 bay leaves to the water and waited to add the hominy and the chili powder. In the future I may add a can or two of enchilada sauce to thicken it up a little and add some red coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Add some oregano and you'll find that this really opens up the flavors of the tripe and all the other seasonings. The tripe is much better if it is cooked slowly for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States