Menudo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
A good Menudo recipe. I used beef ribs instead of beef feet. I cooked the tripe before adding salt and didn't add the beef ribs until the tripe was nearly done. For extra heat, a couple cans of hot diced green chiles. I added a 12oz can of spicy V8 juice for a more tomato background. My Hispanic friends allowed that it was great Menudo. A pretty good compliment for an Anglo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Hi this dish is really good! I'm Mexican and personally in my family never use the hominy in this, that's for the Pozole, and one tip for kill the smell of the tripe, before bowling wash with water and lemon or lime juice, and bowling the tripe only with onion and garlic, we usually add the salt until the sauce is ready, and the longest you cook the tripe is the best. Other spice we use in it is the epazote is a herb, is really good. Ones ready for eat add some chopped onion and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I'm a fan of Menudo but I felt this needed something such as Mexican oregano. I did use chile de arbol powder in this recipe. To render some of the fat from the tripe I did boil it by itself with some lime slices then rinsed and added to the Menudo to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I perfer menudo spice over the chilli powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mercedes, Texas, USA
Living In: San Benito, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
You leave out one of the most important steps...CLEAN the tripe well!! How it tastes depends a LOT on how well u clean the tripe. Also, I'm more fond of yellow hominy than white, and another important part is u MUST add besides the onions on top of the soup, is some oregano. With the corn tortillas, it is sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, California, USA
Living In: Penn Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
i like to add knorr tomato boullion, garlic, and pigs feet to mine. the longer you cook the better. good basic recipe. really good comfort food on cold drizzly nights and even better for hangovers so i'm told!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
this was really good. no complaints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This recipe is pretty basic. The 1st thing I learned about menudo from my mom was "throw" the tripe (always honeycomb tripe) into the sink, cover with water, put in a lot of sliced lemon and let it soak for at least an hour. The 2nd was to use lots of garlic. I generally buy, from a Mexican market, 9-10lbs of the honeycomb, 2 patas (beef feet) cut into pieces and use about 4 heads of garlic - the cloves peeled & sliced into lengthwise slivers. The lemon gets discarded, the tripe (unrinsed) cut into small pieces, put into my trusty 16qt pot, along with the beef feet and about 1 to 1 1/2 chopped onions. I also put in some chopped green pepper - a bit of bell and poblano - - about the equivalent of half a bell pepper. After it comes to a boil, I change it to simmer and do NOT dump the cooking water. When a lot of fat has accumulated, I skim it off, using the fat skimmer and then add the oregano, salt 'n pepper. After a couple hours, in goes goes the hominy. It continues simmering for a couple more hours, or until it's nice 'n tender and not rubbery. I grew up accustomed to "white" menudo and did make the red menudo once - not again. We prefer the white. I will add crushed red pepper flakes to my bowl, however! And sometimes some salsa. (that does not equate to red menudo in my mind!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This recipe can be 5 stars, with a few other changes in addition to the others. I added 1T salt, 1/2T black pepper, 1T oregano, and 2T regular chili powder, and simmered for 2 hours. Add onion and 6-8 cloves minced garlic. Next (IMPORTANT FOR "REAL" RED COLOR AND TASTE OF MENUDO), broil 5 large chile arbol peppers for two minutes, and grind ultra-fine in a regular blender with 6-8 chile japones. Add to tripe mix, and simmer for another 2-3 hours. Add hominy and simmer again. Serve with mix of onion, cilantro, and lime. My husband could not BELIEVE the taste, and rich color, of this menudo. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
I followed the advice of boiling the tripe and then replacing the water and it really made a HUGE difference in reducing the smell. I did add more chili powder than called for and I put oregano in also. I minced an entire bulb of garlic and chopped up a whole onion and also added 5 bay leaves to the water and waited to add the hominy and the chili powder. In the future I may add a can or two of enchilada sauce to thicken it up a little and add some red coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States