Menudo Rojo (Red Menudo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
A couple things can be changed after this experience. First, don't drain the broth!!! Scoop out the unhealthy fat but the broth is what gives menudo it's distinct flavor. You would drain your chicken broth from your chicken soup! It's the same concept with menudo. Second, it came out very spicy, I'd say cut the japonese and arbol peppers by one each. I added a teaspoon of cumin and about 3 more table spoons of salt for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I am 60 years old and I follow a recipe that my grandmother taught me so many years ago. Cut the tripe to smaller than 1 inch piece so it can shrink to the size of the hominy. You must boil the water first then add salt oregano and cumin to the water. Then you add the tripe and boil it for approx. 1.5 hours . The reason for the spices is #1 it wont stink up the house and #2 the tripe absorbs the spice for a tastier tripe. You then drain the water,rinse the tripe. Boil another pot full add the tripe 1 cows foot or 2 pigs feet add oregano & cumin. Boil for another 1.5 hours skim all of the fat at the top. At this point you mince one whole sweet onion 6 garlic teeth or more, add add to the pot. broil or boil approx. 12 chili guajillos (not as hot)take seeds out peel and mince in blender add to pot. Add salt to taste,additional cumin, a bit of oregano to taste. Boil for another hour or so add the hominy with water included (it adds flavor and helps thicken the soup)another half hour or less of boiling should do it. My Grandmother did wash trip very well, some trip is so smelly that you must boil it 3 or more times, if you get one that is not smelly, all it needs to be boiled is one time. Gubharts Menudo mix spice can be substituted for the chili guajillo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda Gutierrez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twinkletoes
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I love this recioe. This was my first time to make menudo and it was super easy! But I have to admit, I did a lot of tweaking to it because we just like certain things a certain way. I washed the tripe really well and then soaked it in a bowl with salt and vinegar (about 15min) before boiling it. For the next pot, I am going to let it soak for at least an hour or so before cooking. I also 1/2 the water and added beef stock, beef shank, doubled the garlic (because we like our garlic), and added an extra Tbs of the red chili powder because we also like a little heat to it. The other thing I am going to do for the next pot of menudo is add more of the beef and tripe and cut back on the hominy just because I don't like hominy that much. But the amount suggested in the recipe is spot on to what you would normally get in a restaurant. The other thing is what one other reviewer stated: this should not take 8 hours to make. Maybe 8 hrs in a crockpot but definitely not stove top. Speaking of which, I did finished cooking this in a crockpot. Next time, I will be cooking must of it in a crockpot. Word to the wise: since I have never cooked with tripe before, I didn't realize it smelled SO BAD!!! Be sure to ventilate well. Next time I am going to cook the tripe outside first. But overall, it was delicious and we are super pleased with the results. Can't wait to make another pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinkletoes
Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
The first time I made this recipe, I had never made or eaten menudo before. It turned out very spicy but my mexican husband and his mexican friends all loved it! I liked the soup broth but I personally didn't like the texture of the tripe in my mouth. Today Im switching up the recipe and adding 2 pigs feet & a 1/2 lb of bones with marrow and wanting to give this another try, its starting to cool down here in Utah so I thought Id surprise my husband again when he gets off of work. I love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie Vazquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
WARNING THESE PEPPERS WILL MAKE YOUR SAUCE ORANGE NOT RED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aher5101
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Too easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Love Menudo!!!!! I didnt need to skim fat off because I buy the Honeycomb Tripe that is trimmed already. I also dont drain the broth, I loved the extra taste of the peppers, this one rocks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I'm posting this review to answer the question about the "redness" of the broth. Most people I know that make menudo use a can of "el pato" brand tomato sauce or salsa de chili fresca. This has chilis and salt in it. So you may want to adjust your salt and chilis if you're one of these people saying this recipe it "too hot." hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday and I DID cook the tripe in the pressure cooker for 4o minutes. I cooked the pigs trotters in another pressure cooker for 15 minutes. Turned out beautifully and eliminated hours of cooking. I borrowed from another reviewer and rubbed the tripe with kosher salt and the juice of two limes and let it sit for a few hours. I rinsed it prior to cooking. I used dried California chili's that I soaked in hot water and scraped the flesh from the skins. They were absolutely devoid of heat. So I used 4 tablespoons of red pepper. I did not use the jalapenos. This dish turned out wonderfully well. It's time consuming - but I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I've made menudo before that came out way too hot. This time, I'm following this recipe with the powder spice mix, no jalapeno peppers but California peppers. I'm not adding any sodium but I am adding pig's feet for the flavor. And to infuse the flavors into the meat, this will cook all day, with the spices in the first addition of items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States