Menudo Rojo (Red Menudo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
A couple things can be changed after this experience. First, don't drain the broth!!! Scoop out the unhealthy fat but the broth is what gives menudo it's distinct flavor. You would drain your chicken broth from your chicken soup! It's the same concept with menudo. Second, it came out very spicy, I'd say cut the japonese and arbol peppers by one each. I added a teaspoon of cumin and about 3 more table spoons of salt for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twinkletoes
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I love this recioe. This was my first time to make menudo and it was super easy! But I have to admit, I did a lot of tweaking to it because we just like certain things a certain way. I washed the tripe really well and then soaked it in a bowl with salt and vinegar (about 15min) before boiling it. For the next pot, I am going to let it soak for at least an hour or so before cooking. I also 1/2 the water and added beef stock, beef shank, doubled the garlic (because we like our garlic), and added an extra Tbs of the red chili powder because we also like a little heat to it. The other thing I am going to do for the next pot of menudo is add more of the beef and tripe and cut back on the hominy just because I don't like hominy that much. But the amount suggested in the recipe is spot on to what you would normally get in a restaurant. The other thing is what one other reviewer stated: this should not take 8 hours to make. Maybe 8 hrs in a crockpot but definitely not stove top. Speaking of which, I did finished cooking this in a crockpot. Next time, I will be cooking must of it in a crockpot. Word to the wise: since I have never cooked with tripe before, I didn't realize it smelled SO BAD!!! Be sure to ventilate well. Next time I am going to cook the tripe outside first. But overall, it was delicious and we are super pleased with the results. Can't wait to make another pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinkletoes
Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
The first time I made this recipe, I had never made or eaten menudo before. It turned out very spicy but my mexican husband and his mexican friends all loved it! I liked the soup broth but I personally didn't like the texture of the tripe in my mouth. Today Im switching up the recipe and adding 2 pigs feet & a 1/2 lb of bones with marrow and wanting to give this another try, its starting to cool down here in Utah so I thought Id surprise my husband again when he gets off of work. I love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie Vazquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
WARNING THESE PEPPERS WILL MAKE YOUR SAUCE ORANGE NOT RED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aher5101
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Too easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Love Menudo!!!!! I didnt need to skim fat off because I buy the Honeycomb Tripe that is trimmed already. I also dont drain the broth, I loved the extra taste of the peppers, this one rocks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I'm posting this review to answer the question about the "redness" of the broth. Most people I know that make menudo use a can of "el pato" brand tomato sauce or salsa de chili fresca. This has chilis and salt in it. So you may want to adjust your salt and chilis if you're one of these people saying this recipe it "too hot." hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday and I DID cook the tripe in the pressure cooker for 4o minutes. I cooked the pigs trotters in another pressure cooker for 15 minutes. Turned out beautifully and eliminated hours of cooking. I borrowed from another reviewer and rubbed the tripe with kosher salt and the juice of two limes and let it sit for a few hours. I rinsed it prior to cooking. I used dried California chili's that I soaked in hot water and scraped the flesh from the skins. They were absolutely devoid of heat. So I used 4 tablespoons of red pepper. I did not use the jalapenos. This dish turned out wonderfully well. It's time consuming - but I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I've made menudo before that came out way too hot. This time, I'm following this recipe with the powder spice mix, no jalapeno peppers but California peppers. I'm not adding any sodium but I am adding pig's feet for the flavor. And to infuse the flavors into the meat, this will cook all day, with the spices in the first addition of items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great recipe for the exception of the measurements for the black pepper. I thought 1 1/2 tablespoon was way too much, and cut it back to 1 teaspoon, and still that made it spicy. When I make it again, I'll use only 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper, if that. I also used 4 New Mexico red peppers, and the broth vs. water in step 2. For step 1, I cooked the tripe with all the garlic and lemon, and added more garlic when I got to the broth stage. While I grew up with the smell of menudo cooking in the house, it's probably not the lost desirable scent, so I recommend cooking it outside if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States