Memphis Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I use this on almost everything..thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by j.
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Just tried it with FriedChicken! It's delicious! I let it marinate 2 1/2 hours on three BLSL chicken breasts. Then I added some of the rub to the flour before coating the chicken in it. Lastly I fried the breast and they look great and taste even better. I will say it's a bit sweeter I when fried to me. When I used it for baked ribs, I tasted the spices more. Now that it's been fried, I taste sweetness with a hint of spice. Still a great balance between the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I'm from Memphis born and raised didn't move away until I was 25. Some people prefer to sprinkle it on and others like to rub it in. Be careful because the sugar does burn fast. I'd recommend wrapping ribs and such in foil to keep the moist and the sugar from burning. Of course some hickory chips and a grill will complete the real deal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
hell yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: East Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This has become my hubby's favorite chicken rub!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I've been using this recipe for 3 years now, and it's the one everybody wants me to do for any holiday or get together. I omit the MSG, salt and cayenne pepper. I use 1 tsp of garlic salt and 1 tsp of onion salt instead of the salt and use 1 tsp of chili powder instead of cayenne pepper. Everything else remains the same. I do this recipe for beer can chickens on the grill at 300 degrees, and they come out so juicy everytime. Great recipe for burgers and pork too... Thank you Memphis for such a wonderful dry rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I used the rub today, seeing that it is winter here in Michigan right now I put them in the oven instead of grilling them. I put the rub on the day before and when I was ready to cook them I cut my slab of ribs in three sections and made a aluminal foil packet with each of them, I added some liquid smoke to each of them and wrapped tightley. I put them on a sheet pan and baked them slowley for a couple hours then after they were done I took out packages and basted them with some Rays bbq sauce( didn't feel like making my own) and baked them for 10 more minutes. These ribs fell off the bones the rub is wonderful and being from Michigan we don't get this taste this way and I love it! I will aways use this. I did omit the MSG I can't have that in my diet next time I will add some ginger just because I love the taste. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gimmymore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I gave this only a 4 star because I made adjustments to it for our taste. I didn't use any white sugar, no msg, 1/2 tsp. pepper, 1/2 tsp. cayene pepper, 1 1/2 tsp. dry mustard, 2 tsp. garlic powder and 2 tsp. onion powder. I make a big batch and store it. To marinade I add a little olive oil to make it stick. Everyone in my family loves this rub. Will use for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
A good starter rub. The 2nd time I used it I added more cumin, chili pepper, a little basil and oregano. A little extra dry mustard also helps to spice things up. My go to for quick rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This rub is great just as written. Am I the only one that thinks we need a catagory in the recipe box for things just like this, sauces, rubs etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States