Memphis Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Excellente! If you live in a town where specialty rubs are not plentiful, try this...even if you do have rub availability. I rubbed my pork and wrapped it in wax paper, ziplocked it and kept it in the frig overnite then smoked it the next day. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Being a Memphis girl- I have to say this is almost as good as my Dad's secret rub! Or Charlie Vergo's Rendezvous' seasoning (http://www.hogsfly.com/) for that matter!! Love this as it reminds me of home from 2000 miles away... :o)I just wish I could give this more than 5 stars. Thanks from Southern california Chef C. Beard for taking me back to my roots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I am from Memphis and I see many recipes claiming to be a "Memphis Rub". This is the real deal. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Fine mix of flavors. Not too spicy, but enough kick to liven up the taste buds. I really like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phelps, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Gillett, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
What a awesome rub! You're right it's great on a roasting chicken. I rub it on in the AM and cook it for dinner. The flavors sink into the meat and it always comes out juicy :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFGRL
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
Easy to make! Tastes great! Not to hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Oh,! How easily I am led astray. Was looking for Biscotti cookies, saw review by Christy, oh dear, checked that out....MEMPHIS RUB...I have searched for 5 years for just the right one. Thanks to Chrisy & Chefgirl's comments I have finally found it!!! I'll let you know after I try it tonight. Bet it's superdelish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I visited Memphis for the first time this summer and had ribs at the same restaurant three nights in a row, they were so good. Since the trip I've tried a few times to replicate them, but have been unsuccessful until this recipe. It's perfect! I followed it exactly and my husband (who missed out on the Memphis trip) cannot stop talking about them. Very authentic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ferrermartinez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Fantastic. I use this as the dry rub for my slow cooker pulled pork sandwiches recipe. Just rub it on the pork, wrap in plastic wrap and chill until the next day. Comes out perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
WOW! I am so glad I tried this recipe. Typically when BBQing, I use a sauce but find that the sauce burns easily. I saw a program on Food Network that talked about using rubs on meat when BBQing...so I decided to try one. I had all the ingredients needed for this recipe along with a nice slab of pork ribs. I mariniated the ribs for about 3 hours before grilling. I grilled the ribs approximately 1 1/2 hours. They were perfect. The meat fell off the bone and my family pratically licked the platter clean. The only change I made to the recipe is to NOT use MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States