Memphis Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Excellente! If you live in a town where specialty rubs are not plentiful, try this...even if you do have rub availability. I rubbed my pork and wrapped it in wax paper, ziplocked it and kept it in the frig overnite then smoked it the next day. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I am from Memphis and I see many recipes claiming to be a "Memphis Rub". This is the real deal. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
What a awesome rub! You're right it's great on a roasting chicken. I rub it on in the AM and cook it for dinner. The flavors sink into the meat and it always comes out juicy :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFGRL
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
Easy to make! Tastes great! Not to hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
I thought this was rather bland, not zesty at all. Maybe a good recipe to tweek more to our liking. Thanks! Christy Okay, just figured out that I forgot to put in the Cayenne Pepper. I will try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Excellent rub that we used on our pork tenderloin in our smoker last weekend. Didn't see the need for MSG so I skipped it. Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Yummy!! MSG not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
This rub is a good rub. i used it on chicken and beef ribs. the flavors are suttle but yummy. i would recommend a little basting with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Oh,! How easily I am led astray. Was looking for Biscotti cookies, saw review by Christy, oh dear, checked that out....MEMPHIS RUB...I have searched for 5 years for just the right one. Thanks to Chrisy & Chefgirl's comments I have finally found it!!! I'll let you know after I try it tonight. Bet it's superdelish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I visited Memphis for the first time this summer and had ribs at the same restaurant three nights in a row, they were so good. Since the trip I've tried a few times to replicate them, but have been unsuccessful until this recipe. It's perfect! I followed it exactly and my husband (who missed out on the Memphis trip) cannot stop talking about them. Very authentic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ferrermartinez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States