Memphis Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This was FANTASTIC! I found boneless pork ribs dirt cheap and this recipe hit the spot! I omitted the MSG but otherwise made to recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
WOW! I am so glad I tried this recipe. Typically when BBQing, I use a sauce but find that the sauce burns easily. I saw a program on Food Network that talked about using rubs on meat when BBQing...so I decided to try one. I had all the ingredients needed for this recipe along with a nice slab of pork ribs. I mariniated the ribs for about 3 hours before grilling. I grilled the ribs approximately 1 1/2 hours. They were perfect. The meat fell off the bone and my family pratically licked the platter clean. The only change I made to the recipe is to NOT use MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Fine mix of flavors. Not too spicy, but enough kick to liven up the taste buds. I really like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phelps, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Gillett, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Used this on a 12# brined, smoke cooked turkey and made a baste of butter and more rub. We all liked the flavor, but I may try a different rub next time and use the rest of this one on pork or cut up chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Excellent. This is the rub I use the most. No MSG for me, so I added an extra tsp of salt instead. Does anyone actually still use MSG? Sprinkle on your ribs, don't be stingy, wrap em up and refrigerate overnight. You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I am from MN, maybe that is my problem. I thought it was okay. I did leave out the MSG due to the bad rap it has. I will try it one more time, maybe I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESSKAROLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
This is very good. I am a big "BBQ" guy. When people want good Q they come ask me for some :) (Well it is the truth). I think this will compliment well one of my basting sauces and will be fantastic on it's own. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Being a Memphis girl- I have to say this is almost as good as my Dad's secret rub! Or Charlie Vergo's Rendezvous' seasoning (http://www.hogsfly.com/) for that matter!! Love this as it reminds me of home from 2000 miles away... :o)I just wish I could give this more than 5 stars. Thanks from Southern california Chef C. Beard for taking me back to my roots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Fantastic. I use this as the dry rub for my slow cooker pulled pork sandwiches recipe. Just rub it on the pork, wrap in plastic wrap and chill until the next day. Comes out perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I visited Memphis for the first time this summer and had ribs at the same restaurant three nights in a row, they were so good. Since the trip I've tried a few times to replicate them, but have been unsuccessful until this recipe. It's perfect! I followed it exactly and my husband (who missed out on the Memphis trip) cannot stop talking about them. Very authentic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ferrermartinez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States