Memphis Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is the first review I've written and this recipe is AWESOME. I've used it several times and always get complimented on it. I highly recommend it, you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Used it on a chicken and left it overnight to marinate. Next day i slow roasted the chicken st 160C for 1 1/2hrs.. the whole apartment had this wonderful aroma and the chicken tasted out of this world...thanks man
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustbean

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Really great rub! I used this on a whole chicken then cooked it on the grill beer can style (with chicken broth and whatever rub was left) in the can. I was hoping for a Popeye's chicken spicy flavor, and this was good, but the next time I will inject it beneath the skin as the majority of the flavor stayed on the skin and really didn't penetrate the meat much. We all liked this and definitely I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I use cumin rather tha msg. I've used this in a restaurant for ribs. Dry rub/slow cook in oven w/coffee and pop!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
WOW! Made it for two cups, tastes great, had extra ribs and meats. Microwaved, still has the taste and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This is one of the best rubs I've made. I've made it 2x now. The 1st time I followed the recipe exactly ... it was very tasty, but a bit too spicy for my husband. The 2nd time, I cut the amount of cayenne in half (1/2 tsp), and added 1 tsp of chili powder, 1 tsp of cinnamon, and increased the brown sugar to 1 1/2 Tbsp. It was exactly what we were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
These were the first to go, DH said best ribs he'd ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Wasn't bad but had alot better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I was just going to search for "rib rub" or similar, until my husband mentioned the best ribs he ever had were in Memphis, so I searched for "Memphis Rub" instead. I'm so glad only one recipe came up since I didn't have time to check out a bunch, read reviews, etc. This rub was fantastic! I didn't have the MSG & I'm not sure what it could have added to the flavor. I can't wait to try it on other meats! So all I can say is, "Thank you, thank you very much!" for a little taste of Memphis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I am from Memphis. This was nice to find. Living up north they don't have many good BBQ places to eat. So, I have to do it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States