Memphis Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I love this rub! I didn't have celery salt, but I used a bit of Old Bay instead. I normally add red paper flakes to make it hotter, but the sugar balances it out nicely. I have used this twice on chicken then baked it in the oven, my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I absolutely love this rub. I've used it twice for my beer can cornish hens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
good, really spicy though. I'm a "wimp" tounge so it was hot to me. Really good flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
There is absolutely no reason to put MSG in this. Otherwise it is a great rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
INCREDIBLE, but I made a few changes. I cut the paprika drastically and replaced the msg with tenderizer and omitted a lot of the salt. I also omitted the onion powder and garlic powder for fresh onion and garlic. I minced the garlic and onion and smeared it on our racks of a ribs and let it sit all day in the fridge. About 30 minutes before cooking i smeared on our rub and then they were slow cooked on the grill. We were very impressed by the uniqueness of it. We had never tasted anything like it. It was sweet, but not overpoweringly, and it carmalized nicely with the fresh onion. I was a little heavy handed with the rub, so i'll cut back on that in the future ,but i'm definatly saving this one for future use.Thank you ALIKAT695
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I love this rub on rotisserie chicken. Not spicy, just flavor-full! Tonight we are doing it on ribs. I just started making a double batch in a sealed container to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
My husband grew up in Memphis and loves this recipe. We put it on chicken wings and then bake them in the oven for 30 min. at 500 degrees. We like this recipe so much that we have been eating it almost once a week ever since we found this recipe a year ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Fantastic rub! We cook our meat in Memphis so good we don't have to cover it up with sauce!!!!!! You need to try this rub one of Memphis's finest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newbern, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I have NEVER liked ribs ..... until this recipe. shockingly, I can almost eat as much of these as my rib-loving husband! I used Adolph's meat tenderizer instead of the MSG (it was what I could get) and let them marinate 24hrs in the fridge. Then covered about and hour and a half in a moderate oven. Heaven! Everybody I serve these to ask for the recipe, and nobody walks away unhappy. Thank you for changing my life-long opinion on pork ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States