Mema's Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
These fritters were beautiful and tasty! I cut fresh corn from the cob and then fried the corn and the onions together before following the rest of the recipe. I also tried half of the recipe with about 1 teaspoon of sugar to sweeten them and thought that was a great addition. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Way too much corn and little else. No balance to flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I made as per recipe and liked them. They're kind of bland as is, but good for a side when served with a spicy main dish, which is what I had. I will make them again (makes corn easy to eat!) and tailor them to what else will be on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Good base recipe. I didn't have onion, but I tossed in some diced green pepper and used cheddar cheese since that's what I had on hand. I made one fritter and thought it tasted bland. So I added plenty onion powder, garlic powder, season salt, black pepper, a dash of red pepper. This makes a delicious savory fritter that I've served with breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also, I've found that frying in too much butter and oil makes them greasy. I lightly coat a nonstick pan with olive oil and they turn out golden, but not oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Everthing you want a corn fritter to be! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I didn't use as much cheese as the recipe called for, but I used the 1/4C I had on hand. I was great!I can't wait to have company to make this for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therelaxedcook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was just the recipe I was looking for, nothing deep fried or too doughy. I made as directed but used leftover grilled corn cut off the cob. The oil/butter mix for frying was awesome, lots of butter flavor but the oil (I used olive) kept it from getting too dark batch after batch. I will absolutely make again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
These are really good! It made a batch of 8 silver dollar sized fritters. I made a few just as the recipe stated and then the rest I added some chopped jalapenos (2 tbsp for half of the batter) I liked the spicier ones better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I made these as directed (close as a non-measurer can at any rate) and they were perfect. My daughter and I ate the entire batch for supper. Always a plus when I can both make a new dish that is easy and comes out perfectly AND meet the picky desires of my kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
These were delicious, will definitely be making again! I did change some things though, I added garlic to the batter and used cheddar cheese instead of shredded parm b/c thats what I had on hand. I also used double what the recipe said for bisquick in order to get the nice thick batter needed for the fritters to keep their shape in the fry pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States