Melting Snowmen OREO Cookie Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Working with white chocolate is difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
OK...seriously...one of my top three favorite cookies of all time!!!!!!!!!!! The taste is absolutely decadent; out of this world!! I made them because I thought they were cute; I never expected them to be so delicious. Great job, Oreo, on making a recipe using your cookies that I would actually make for taste along, not counting how adorable the melting snowmen are! My only change would be to try refrigerating the cream cheese balls before dipping in the chocolate because mine melted a little in the chocolate, making the white appear a bit "dirty" in places because of the brown chocolate mixing in. Overall, I am very pleased, though. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Definitely not as easy as it sounds. I used both white almond bark and chocolate chips for a big batch. The almond bark melts into a smooth consistency way better than the chips. I refrigerated the balls before covering, however I recommend freezing them. The balls still crumbled and "dirtied" the white melt. I also used toothpicks to remove the balls after rolling them in the melt. This helped a little, as using fingers left bare spots. If anyone has tips on how to make them as smooth as the pictures above, I'd love to here. They taste great, however I am disappointed with them visually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I had a great time making these. Easy and fun. Took me two tries to get it right. Had a hard time dipping them as I tried to take them out with my fingers, which left bare spots on the sides and ruined the round shape. I then dropped the ball into the melted chocolate and used a spoon to spoon more chocolate over top. Scooped out with the spoon and tilted the spoon forward and back, to drain off the excess chocolate, then carefully wiggled the ball off the spoon onto the cookie.This gave just enough chocolate for the base. I also waited for the chocolate to set a bit and used the back of the spoon to gently tap it on top to get that cute peak in the pictures. I melted white chocolate wafers that you can buy at any bulk store. They melt really easily. Needed to make more filling in order to get enough. I think I will quadruple the recipe next time as they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Several things, I used my food processor to prepare the crushed cookies, and I used blonde Oreos. I put the balls in the freezer for 20 minutes before rolling them in the melted white chocolate! No problem with crumbs or any discoloration. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I was excited about making this supposedly easy recipe for an office luncheon. Needless to say, I'm going to have to take something else. The chocolate was the hardest thing to work with and I ended up with very dirty looking blobs atop the oreo cookies. Decorating that wasn't exactly cute. I did freeze the filling and that worked well but the chocolate didn't melt well and the filling bled into the chocolate creating dirty looking snow .who wants to eat that. Needless to say, I cannot take these into work and have to make something else. I'm not much of a candy maker and maybe one needed to have more experience doing that. I tried melting white chocolate chips and they didn't get soft enough and then got too hard. So, I tried a doubleboiler and another bag of white chips with Ghiradelli baking chocolate. That was a little better but still not smooth or good enough. I gave up I'm sorry to say. If you make them and are successful, good for you. Just have a back up if you're going to have to take them somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I really like the idea of this recipe, just plain cute! I modified it to make it a little more realistically possible. As other reviewers have said, make sure your dough is very cold. I also used a double boiler and melted my white chocolate chips and added about an inch of parafin wax just like I do with my buckeye balls. The parafin helps the chocolate set up better. For decorating, I used colored chocolate discs melted in decorator bottles. It is thicker than the gel and not as messy. They were adorable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie6
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe is super cute. I make the Oreo ball part with yellow Oreos --tastes like cookie dough but adding the extra cookie under it for me makes it just too sweet. Also difficult to eat.....crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Yummy! I have made different variations of oreo balls for years. They always taste awesome! (dangerous on the scale though!!!) I apparently make my balls bigger because I tripled the recipe and I still only ended up with about only about 22. The store didn't have red oreos so I used the green mint ones instead. I also used vanilla almond bark. I also was a little generous on the cream cheese because I wanted to make sure they would stick together well. I did put the snowman faces on them, but they sure don't look as cute as the professional ones. However, I work with kids so they won't mind at all. I didn't have problems with making them solid white, but I did put them in the refrigerator for about 30 min before I warmed up my almond bark, and when I made them into balls I rolled them in my hands like play-dough to make sure they were put together well. These were fun to make and I will most likely do it again before the season is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I tried this recipe and found it extremely difficult to work with the melted chocolate. I did freeze my dough balls and followed the advice of the recipe reviews. This task is really frustrating and I find it hard to believe it ever ends up looking like the picture displayed on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States