Melting Snowmen OREO Cookie Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
OK...seriously...one of my top three favorite cookies of all time!!!!!!!!!!! The taste is absolutely decadent; out of this world!! I made them because I thought they were cute; I never expected them to be so delicious. Great job, Oreo, on making a recipe using your cookies that I would actually make for taste along, not counting how adorable the melting snowmen are! My only change would be to try refrigerating the cream cheese balls before dipping in the chocolate because mine melted a little in the chocolate, making the white appear a bit "dirty" in places because of the brown chocolate mixing in. Overall, I am very pleased, though. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Simple and adorable! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
YUMMY! Keep your dough cold and be careful not to overheat the white chocolate. Loved these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have made these for years, but without the extra cookie underneath. You can really do a lot with mint oreos/dark chocolate, white chocolate/vanilla oreos, etc. All great. As another reviewer said, cool dough is the best. I freeze the cookie balls for a few hours before I dip them in chocolate. It makes it a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
If you really want to make it look like a melting snowman, you could also use the white fudge dipped Oreo's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Yummy! I have made different variations of oreo balls for years. They always taste awesome! (dangerous on the scale though!!!) I apparently make my balls bigger because I tripled the recipe and I still only ended up with about only about 22. The store didn't have red oreos so I used the green mint ones instead. I also used vanilla almond bark. I also was a little generous on the cream cheese because I wanted to make sure they would stick together well. I did put the snowman faces on them, but they sure don't look as cute as the professional ones. However, I work with kids so they won't mind at all. I didn't have problems with making them solid white, but I did put them in the refrigerator for about 30 min before I warmed up my almond bark, and when I made them into balls I rolled them in my hands like play-dough to make sure they were put together well. These were fun to make and I will most likely do it again before the season is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I had a great time making these. Easy and fun. Took me two tries to get it right. Had a hard time dipping them as I tried to take them out with my fingers, which left bare spots on the sides and ruined the round shape. I then dropped the ball into the melted chocolate and used a spoon to spoon more chocolate over top. Scooped out with the spoon and tilted the spoon forward and back, to drain off the excess chocolate, then carefully wiggled the ball off the spoon onto the cookie.This gave just enough chocolate for the base. I also waited for the chocolate to set a bit and used the back of the spoon to gently tap it on top to get that cute peak in the pictures. I melted white chocolate wafers that you can buy at any bulk store. They melt really easily. Needed to make more filling in order to get enough. I think I will quadruple the recipe next time as they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I really like the idea of this recipe, just plain cute! I modified it to make it a little more realistically possible. As other reviewers have said, make sure your dough is very cold. I also used a double boiler and melted my white chocolate chips and added about an inch of parafin wax just like I do with my buckeye balls. The parafin helps the chocolate set up better. For decorating, I used colored chocolate discs melted in decorator bottles. It is thicker than the gel and not as messy. They were adorable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Looking at this picture gave me an idea to just use Vanilla ice cream instead and then freeze them. Simpler, but still fun. My kids won't eat cream cheese. We will see how it goes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie6
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe is super cute. I make the Oreo ball part with yellow Oreos --tastes like cookie dough but adding the extra cookie under it for me makes it just too sweet. Also difficult to eat.....crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States