Melting Snowmen OREO Cookie Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have made these for years, but without the extra cookie underneath. You can really do a lot with mint oreos/dark chocolate, white chocolate/vanilla oreos, etc. All great. As another reviewer said, cool dough is the best. I freeze the cookie balls for a few hours before I dip them in chocolate. It makes it a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
YUMMY! Keep your dough cold and be careful not to overheat the white chocolate. Loved these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Simple and adorable! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Definitely not as easy as it sounds. I used both white almond bark and chocolate chips for a big batch. The almond bark melts into a smooth consistency way better than the chips. I refrigerated the balls before covering, however I recommend freezing them. The balls still crumbled and "dirtied" the white melt. I also used toothpicks to remove the balls after rolling them in the melt. This helped a little, as using fingers left bare spots. If anyone has tips on how to make them as smooth as the pictures above, I'd love to here. They taste great, however I am disappointed with them visually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I tried this recipe and found it extremely difficult to work with the melted chocolate. I did freeze my dough balls and followed the advice of the recipe reviews. This task is really frustrating and I find it hard to believe it ever ends up looking like the picture displayed on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
These did not turn out like the picture. They looked like dirty little ghosts (due to cookie crumbs) I think we will do this for Halloween but not for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Yummy! I have made different variations of oreo balls for years. They always taste awesome! (dangerous on the scale though!!!) I apparently make my balls bigger because I tripled the recipe and I still only ended up with about only about 22. The store didn't have red oreos so I used the green mint ones instead. I also used vanilla almond bark. I also was a little generous on the cream cheese because I wanted to make sure they would stick together well. I did put the snowman faces on them, but they sure don't look as cute as the professional ones. However, I work with kids so they won't mind at all. I didn't have problems with making them solid white, but I did put them in the refrigerator for about 30 min before I warmed up my almond bark, and when I made them into balls I rolled them in my hands like play-dough to make sure they were put together well. These were fun to make and I will most likely do it again before the season is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I must have done something totally wrong because I followed the instructions and the mixture was sticking to my hands like crazy. The chocolate I melted were white chocolate chips (which didn't melt smoothly.) Also when rolling the balls in the chocolate the mixture started to run into the chocolate so, like someone else said, they looked like dirty ghosts. If I ever try to make these again I will chill the mixture so it doesn't stick to me and I will try a different kind of white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I really like the idea of this recipe, just plain cute! I modified it to make it a little more realistically possible. As other reviewers have said, make sure your dough is very cold. I also used a double boiler and melted my white chocolate chips and added about an inch of parafin wax just like I do with my buckeye balls. The parafin helps the chocolate set up better. For decorating, I used colored chocolate discs melted in decorator bottles. It is thicker than the gel and not as messy. They were adorable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
If you really want to make it look like a melting snowman, you could also use the white fudge dipped Oreo's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States