Melting Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These are a nice butter cookie. I mixed the oats in because I was too lazy to roll the cookies in them :) My husband looked at the title of the recipe before I made them and when he walked in when the first batch was done he said "those don't look like bread" (he loves fresh bread out of the oven). LOL! He still asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coolbee
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These are delicious! But because I can never seem to leave a recipe alone, I made a few changes. I used butter-flavored shortening (since I have an abundance of it), omitted the oats, and replaced the self-rising flour with all-purpose flour + 1/2 tsp baking powder + 1/8 tsp salt. I also rolled out the dough so I could try out my new biscuit cutters. For those curious about using this recipe for cutout cookies, be warned that the dough is quite crumbly, so go slowly when you roll. You also might want to use shortening in this case because butter might cause spreading. Oh, and reduce baking time to 7-8 minutes or so, since cutout cookies are thinner than drop cookies. Regardless of how you decide to shape the dough, these cookies are definitely flaky and light with a hint of sweetness. Before baking, brush the tops with a bit of egg yolk for a lovely, shiny, golden crust. I will for sure be making these again :o) Thank you Jayna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I had planned to have these with our main meal, but as I made them I kept thinking "These seem more like cookies than biscuits." Then it dawned on me that in the UK, biscuits ARE cookies! That's what I get for being Southern. Other than that little mix-up they were great. They really do melt in your mouth and they left my dad begging for more. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookwormans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Delicious! My British ex-pat husband requested that I mix oats into the dough. I add about 3-4 handfuls at the very end. I also add an extra tablespoon cornstarch to make them crispier. And because of the extra cornstarch and oats, I end up having to add a tablespoon of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dsylxeic
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Simply amazing. The rolled oats gives extra crunch & texture to the deliciously crisp cookie. Don't omit it, okay? (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Comes out perfect every time. I add some vanilla sugar to the oatmeal to make it slightly sweeter. Try not to substitute margarine for butter if you can help it, it really doesn't do the recipe justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I too made my own self-rising flour by adding 1/2 tsp baking power and 1/8 tsp salt to the flour. Turned out great. My husband loves these because they are not too sweet. Rolling them in oats is a MUST. I sometimes make these as biscuits (cookies) or in a biscotti shape. If you are making them as biscotti, roll the dough into a round, flatten the bottom on your cutting board as you slice them, then refrigderate for a few minutes before you roll them in oats and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOTHEBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I love this recipe it is very good!!!!! Great snack!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Really good straight out of the oven. These cookies really do melt. The first time I made them I made a horrible mistake! I didn't have any self-raising flour and I heard that if you put in 1 tsp of baking soda and 1 tsp of baking powder. It was only supposed to be 1/2 tsp each, so they tasted horrible and had a really bitter after taste. But I made them again and fixed my mistake and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESS46

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Laila
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
A delicious not-too-sweet cookie/biscuit! Since they aren’t too sweet, it is possible to enjoy more than just one or two of these! I had to change a few things in the recipe: I didn't have cornstarch, so I omitted from the recipe. Also, I used all-purpose flour, because I didn't have self-rising flour. In the end, the cookies were still delicious! The taste closely resembles a Russian Tea Cake. I advise serving these with an afternoon tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States