Melting Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Laila
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
A delicious not-too-sweet cookie/biscuit! Since they aren’t too sweet, it is possible to enjoy more than just one or two of these! I had to change a few things in the recipe: I didn't have cornstarch, so I omitted from the recipe. Also, I used all-purpose flour, because I didn't have self-rising flour. In the end, the cookies were still delicious! The taste closely resembles a Russian Tea Cake. I advise serving these with an afternoon tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I had planned to have these with our main meal, but as I made them I kept thinking "These seem more like cookies than biscuits." Then it dawned on me that in the UK, biscuits ARE cookies! That's what I get for being Southern. Other than that little mix-up they were great. They really do melt in your mouth and they left my dad begging for more. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookwormans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Not bad. Not great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
quick & easy with a light satisfying flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
What a wonderful recipe this is! They looked beautiful and tasted delicious. I made 24 cookies and did have to add more oatmeal, which was no problem at all. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
These are delicious. But I figured out that "biscuit" means cookie across the pond... These reminded me of Lorne Doone cookies... thanx for the recipe. I will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KATHY S
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
These are very good, but mine did not spread at all (followed recipe exactly) so they don't look much like the picture. They came out like little buttons. I also had a hard time getting the oats to stick to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Delicious! Not too sweet; nice and light - perfect with a cup of tea. For what it's worth, I don't think of these as being traditionally English. The only biscuits I can think of that resemble these in any way are Hob Nobs. I associate oaty biscuits with Scotland more than England. But anyway, these are recommended. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I absolutely love these. I wonder if these really are similar to those served in Britain? I want to claim them as American!!! LOL Thanks and I am going to be making these all the time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Comes out perfect every time. I add some vanilla sugar to the oatmeal to make it slightly sweeter. Try not to substitute margarine for butter if you can help it, it really doesn't do the recipe justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States