Melting Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
These are insanely good...I can't stop eating them with Irish tea....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I too made my own self-rising flour by adding 1/2 tsp baking power and 1/8 tsp salt to the flour. Turned out great. My husband loves these because they are not too sweet. Rolling them in oats is a MUST. I sometimes make these as biscuits (cookies) or in a biscotti shape. If you are making them as biscotti, roll the dough into a round, flatten the bottom on your cutting board as you slice them, then refrigderate for a few minutes before you roll them in oats and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOTHEBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I love this recipe it is very good!!!!! Great snack!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These are a nice butter cookie. I mixed the oats in because I was too lazy to roll the cookies in them :) My husband looked at the title of the recipe before I made them and when he walked in when the first batch was done he said "those don't look like bread" (he loves fresh bread out of the oven). LOL! He still asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coolbee
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These are delicious! But because I can never seem to leave a recipe alone, I made a few changes. I used butter-flavored shortening (since I have an abundance of it), omitted the oats, and replaced the self-rising flour with all-purpose flour + 1/2 tsp baking powder + 1/8 tsp salt. I also rolled out the dough so I could try out my new biscuit cutters. For those curious about using this recipe for cutout cookies, be warned that the dough is quite crumbly, so go slowly when you roll. You also might want to use shortening in this case because butter might cause spreading. Oh, and reduce baking time to 7-8 minutes or so, since cutout cookies are thinner than drop cookies. Regardless of how you decide to shape the dough, these cookies are definitely flaky and light with a hint of sweetness. Before baking, brush the tops with a bit of egg yolk for a lovely, shiny, golden crust. I will for sure be making these again :o) Thank you Jayna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
All I can say is yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Delicious! My British ex-pat husband requested that I mix oats into the dough. I add about 3-4 handfuls at the very end. I also add an extra tablespoon cornstarch to make them crispier. And because of the extra cornstarch and oats, I end up having to add a tablespoon of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Really good straight out of the oven. These cookies really do melt. The first time I made them I made a horrible mistake! I didn't have any self-raising flour and I heard that if you put in 1 tsp of baking soda and 1 tsp of baking powder. It was only supposed to be 1/2 tsp each, so they tasted horrible and had a really bitter after taste. But I made them again and fixed my mistake and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESS46

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
The baking time was way off, i ended up with little hockey pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Really good! Hubbie told me "these are not a biscuit, this is a cookie." Great with a morning cup of coffee. My oats didn't stick but they are still good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States