Melt In Your Mouth Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This recipe can come out wonderful. For those having issues with seperation or a burnt sugar taste, you're cooking it on too high of heat. Dont be afraid to turn it lower than medium heat. I've had it burn on me using a family member's range that ran hotter than my own. A way too tell if it's burning in the beginning is once you've stopped stirring it watch it for about minutes or so, if very dark bubbles start to pop up in the center, it's too high. The center bubbles should have more of light amber color than a darker brown color. I hope this helps some of those having issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
To make it TRULY Melt-in-your-mouth, add 3 tablespoon corn syrup and 3 tablespoon water to the butter before cooking. The corn syrup will stabilize the sugar and prevent graininess. The addition of water also helps the butter melt to produce a smooth, melt in your mouth toffee instead of the undesirable 'stick-to-your-teeth' feel. I received this toffee trick from a caterer and it truly works. Try it. (I also make just half the recipe: 2 sticks butter, 1.25 cups white sugar, 3 tablespoons each of water & corn syrup. Add 1 tsp. vanilla after mixture is done and off the heat.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Holy cow!! ADDICTING!! No matter how much you think that the sugar is going to burn DO NOT STIR after it boils. I had to hold Elizabeth back, so she wouldn't stir. After we poured the toffee into the pan we sprinkled the nuts on top, and then waited a few minutes for the toffee to harden. After that we spread on the melted chocolate. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
This is just what I was looking for! It's wonderfull!! I took a few suggestions from other reviewers and this is how I did it. 2 cups Butter 1 cup Sugar 1 cup Brown sugar, packed 1 cup Pecans, chopped (or walnuts, or almonds) 2 cups Dark chocolate chips Line a large jellyroll pan with foil and grease. In a heavy saucepan, combine butter, and sugars. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until mixture boils. Boil (without stirring) to brittle stage, 300 degrees F (about 25 min.). Remove from heat and stir it nuts. Pour hot mixture onto prepared pan. Sprinkle with chocolate chips and let stand for 2 to 3 minuets to melt. Smooth chocolate over toffee. Let the mixture cool and break it into pieces before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I find it so funny that people mess up making something and blame it on the recipe. I've been making this for years, my friends have been making it for years and we've never burned a pan yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
To spread the toffee, try using the cut side of a baking potato instead of an oily wooden spoon. The starches in the potato prevent sticking and the potato gives you a bit more leverage to press and push on the toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is a great recipe, however, I prefer nuts and chocolate on the top!! A hint for those of you who had this turn out like grainy sugar--you have to pay attention to the weather. In the midwest it has been very humid and warm this year. Even though I am a very experienced candy maker, I tried to make toffee 4 times this month and it 'broke'--the mixture reached 275 and the butter began to foam and separated from the sugar. I was convinced that the butter and sugar companies had changed their products. I was very frustrated at the loss of time (and $$$). I don't know any way to save it once this happens. Like any cooked candy, humidity can ruin it (like divinity). Don't make any cooked candy if it is humid, rainy, etc.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I would recommend a few changes. I found the chocolate chips stayed whole after the mixture was done. I would melt the chocolat chips and also I put it in a 9X13 pan and the next time I would make in a bigger pan. It was too thick. It had a good taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Thank you for this recipe! I'm having a piece from my practice batch right now (I was considering it for Christmas gifts, and I am SOLD!). Great-tasting, crunchy toffee. I followed the recipe exactly, with no problems. You can check your thermometer in a pot of boiling water to check its accuracy (should read 212F/100C). Things I'll try next time, partly based on suggestions here: use a jelly roll pan for a thinner candy, drizzle with melted chocolate instead of pouring toffee over, almonds instead of walnuts, increase nuts to 1 1/2 cups or try grinding nuts in food processor and sprinkle over chocolate (like Almond Roca). I had no problems with the toffee sticking to the pan (I sprayed with cooking spray). I'd love to try other combinations (macadamia/white chocolate, milk chocolate/peanuts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Delicious! I gave this out at Christmas and it was very popular! Each time I've made it though, I haven't been able to reach the desired brittle stage the first time around, which I didn't find out until after cooling, and ended up scraping it from the pan and cooking it again (this won't work if you add chocolate chips though, which I prefer to leave out). One tip to know when it's done - drop a little into a cup of ice cold water; if it hardens completely, you're good to go. If it's soft at all, keep cooking. The stuff is always very greasy though, sometimes it solidifies into unsightly white clumps in the toffee. I also end up with a few tablespoons of oil floating around in the pan on top of the toffee, which I pour/wipe off after the toffee has hardened a bit. I would also suggest pouring into more than one pan, otherwise it's too thick and hard to break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Pumpkin Seed Brittle

See how to make autumn’s perfect sweet snack.

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States