Melt In Your Mouth Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Sorry. Planned to make this for gifts but it tasted like burnt sugar. Also I made it in a larger pan than called for and it was still way too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I substituted almonds for the walnuts but this recipe is incredibly good and incredibly easy. My husband can't stop raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
This is going to sound weird, but if this recipe doesn't turn out it could be the butter. I bought some butter at the grocery store and used that to make about six batches. I needed more butter so I went to one of the large discount stores and bought some butter there. Every batch I tried to make with that butter didn't turn out. It either burned or the butter and the sugars didn't mix together right. I went back to the grocery store and bought butter there again and it turned out perfect. My mom said that the butter that didn't work could have been frozen on its way to the store. That butter kind of separated when I melted it and looked very oily compared to when I melted the grocery store brand. I have a couple of tips too. I bought some of that non-stick foil and lined a jelly roll pan with it. You don't have to worry about greasing anything then. I mixed cashews or slivered almonds into the toffee mixture right before I took it off the stove. I had trouble with the chocolate turning grayish when it cooled so I quit using that. Before breaking the toffee into pieces I wiped the top and bottom of it with a paper towel. To break it into pieces I broke the whole thing in half, then those pieces in half, then those in half until I got to the size pieces I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
the first time i made this the butter didn't totally incorporate, but it tasted great. the second batch performed as promise and was amazing. i will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
The overall rating on this recipe is very misleading!!!! I followed the directions exactly and came away with a burnt mess and a ruined pan. Don't waste your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I followed recipe exactly but it seems there is WAY too much butter to mix with the sugars...when I poured it in the pan to cool I had a good 1/4 inch of butter sitting on top...if anyone has success with this can tell me if hey indeed used an entire pound of butter and it worked, please email me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKSNUMBER1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I wasn't too impressed with this recipe. Even though I had my burner on medium/low, the mixture started to burn quite quickly. I have a tried and true toffee recipe that's more forgiving. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This was my first attempt to making toffee and it was awesome. I served it at party and everyone raved. This recipe is better than anything you could buy and is so easy to make. I will never buy toffee from the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Great recipe! Tastes and looks like you bought it at an expensive candy store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
Wow! I brought this to work and everyone loved it. It was so easy and so good! It's a great desert to make if you want to make something at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

How to Melt Chocolate

Discover ways to melt chocolate evenly and smoothly.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States