Melt In Your Mouth Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
I didn't have as bad of luck with this recipes as some of the other reviewers were having, however, I am not sure I would make this again. It could have been me, but the toffee really was more like crumbly carmel. I had to keep it in the fridge/freezer for it to hold its shape. I thought it was because I didn't cook it long enough (although my thermometer said 300 degrees). I don't think I will chance it again. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This recipe can come out wonderful. For those having issues with seperation or a burnt sugar taste, you're cooking it on too high of heat. Dont be afraid to turn it lower than medium heat. I've had it burn on me using a family member's range that ran hotter than my own. A way too tell if it's burning in the beginning is once you've stopped stirring it watch it for about minutes or so, if very dark bubbles start to pop up in the center, it's too high. The center bubbles should have more of light amber color than a darker brown color. I hope this helps some of those having issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I had the same results as some of the other reviewers. This turned out like crystalized sugar. I think a candy thermometer might have helped. Also, the chocolate chips didn't completely melt. My husband thought it was pretty good, but we both thought it tasted more like maple candy than toffee. In all fairness, I probably should have used a thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Made this recipe 7 times, and it has worked out 2 times, and when it worked it wasn't that great. If you insist on making it, i have a lifesaver suggestion to save the ingredients if the toffee doesn't work out. But first, I want to describe the results. As toffee goes, it should be hard candy. But this toffee was not so much hard, as it was semi-crumbly, or like crystalized sugar. During cooking, we would pass the caramel stage (soft ball in a cup of cold water), and reach the hard candy stage (threads in cold water), and immediately some of the butter would separate itself. If you insist on making it anyways, DO NOT PUT THE CHOCOLATE AND NUTS ON THE BOTTOM OF THE PAN. This way, if the toffee does not work out, you don't throw out the chocolate and nuts too. It is far easier to use a cookie sheet, sprayed with pam, and pour the toffee in. In a separate bowl, microwave the chocolate until smooth, and pour OVER the toffee, and then cover with nuts. good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
This is a WONDERFUL recipe. I can't believe how harsh some of you idiots have been in your reviews. I found this recipe over a year ago and I have made it at least 20 times. Every time it has been absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Unimpressive. The idea of layering the melted sugar over the chocolate was particularly bad. Unfortunately I'm not entirely surprised, as it often seems that the ones that claim to be "the easiest" are rarely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This is the first toffee recipe that failed me. Not stirring burned my pan and toffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Wonderful! A great hit with the kids and at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I had no problems getting the butter incorporated into the rest of the ingredients, and I thought it was all good until the end, it had burned on the bottom of the non-stick pan. Disappointed. Turned out great, but had a bad burned flavor aftertaste. Not sure if I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I enjoyed this recipe a lot - some of my gift-receivers didn't, but they may have just not been toffee fans. While I was making the toffee, it burnt to the bottom of the pan - which I was expecting considering the temperature it had to come to. However, are there any hints to prevent that? THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

How to Melt Chocolate

Discover ways to melt chocolate evenly and smoothly.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States