Melt In Your Mouth Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Simple and yummo! Great recipe for Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This is my favorite candy! I have had a few bad batches--probably due to a faulty temperature reading. Make sure your thermometer is good and keep your eye on it! Also, DO NOT forget to grease the pan--you'll regret it!! Then enjoy the fabulous fruits of your labor! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Søborg, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This was my first time making toffee, so I bought a candy thermometer and followed the instructions exactly and it came out great. I really kept it on a low to medium setting and cooked it slowly so it didn't burn. I also added the chocolate and nuts on TOP of the hot mixture. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Just made this recipe. It is awesome!! My chocolate chips didn't melt so well, but I put wax paper under the chocolate first, so I flipped it over and smoothed it a little with my hand to spread it out better and then stuck it in the freezer to harden it enough to just peel the wax paper away. Excellent recipe! I didn't have any trouble with the toffee part either. By the way, I stirred this the entire time it cooked. I do my peanut brittle the same way and it turns out perfect every time. This made a huge ziplock container as I spread it over a very large cookie sheet. I can not wait to take my candy bags to work and pass them around! Thanks for this one, it is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEBUGSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollandale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I've made this recipe for Christmas for the last 2 years, and everyone is completely addicted. It's crunchy, delicious, and so easy I'm making it RIGHT NOW and can sit here typing this review. Try it now! Okay, had to add one thing because I finally had a bad experience making this, after several times of perfect results. I actually burned the carp out of it! I had bought a new pan and it was fine for my caramels and fudge, which are stirred constantly, but I think it was too thin for the toffee, since you don't stir it. So I tried again in my old heavy pan, and it was perfect. I also addressed the non-melting-chocolate-chip problem by putting the pan of chips/nuts in the oven for about 5 minutes just as the toffee was nearing its 300 degree mark. It got the chocolate chips nice and melty ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I brought the toffee in as an addition to our office holiday party. Myself and coworkers love it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
easy and awesome recipe! Family and relatives loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This recipe worked just fine. Matter of fact it was wonderful. The key was once it came to a boil to continue boiling (toward the 300 degrees) at a low boil, so it doesn't burn. Also, I tried dipping the toffee pieces into melted chocolate chips, and it was a mess. Next time I will do what the recipe says... and spread the chocolate chips over the hot candy. And then sprinkle the chopped nuts (I used almonds) I do like chocolate on both sides (along with the nuts) so I'll flip over the candy once one side is dry and pour & spread melted chocolate bits on the flip side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
I didn't have as bad of luck with this recipes as some of the other reviewers were having, however, I am not sure I would make this again. It could have been me, but the toffee really was more like crumbly carmel. I had to keep it in the fridge/freezer for it to hold its shape. I thought it was because I didn't cook it long enough (although my thermometer said 300 degrees). I don't think I will chance it again. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This recipe can come out wonderful. For those having issues with seperation or a burnt sugar taste, you're cooking it on too high of heat. Dont be afraid to turn it lower than medium heat. I've had it burn on me using a family member's range that ran hotter than my own. A way too tell if it's burning in the beginning is once you've stopped stirring it watch it for about minutes or so, if very dark bubbles start to pop up in the center, it's too high. The center bubbles should have more of light amber color than a darker brown color. I hope this helps some of those having issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

How to Melt Chocolate

Discover ways to melt chocolate evenly and smoothly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States