Melt In Your Mouth Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe! I have never made toffee before and this turned out perfect. I also stirred the entire time and only allowed the temp to reach 250 degrees. I also put the chocolate chips and nuts on top instead of the bottom. Very quick, easy and inexpensive recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Thank you for this recipe! I'm having a piece from my practice batch right now (I was considering it for Christmas gifts, and I am SOLD!). Great-tasting, crunchy toffee. I followed the recipe exactly, with no problems. You can check your thermometer in a pot of boiling water to check its accuracy (should read 212F/100C). Things I'll try next time, partly based on suggestions here: use a jelly roll pan for a thinner candy, drizzle with melted chocolate instead of pouring toffee over, almonds instead of walnuts, increase nuts to 1 1/2 cups or try grinding nuts in food processor and sprinkle over chocolate (like Almond Roca). I had no problems with the toffee sticking to the pan (I sprayed with cooking spray). I'd love to try other combinations (macadamia/white chocolate, milk chocolate/peanuts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Simple and yummo! Great recipe for Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This is my favorite candy! I have had a few bad batches--probably due to a faulty temperature reading. Make sure your thermometer is good and keep your eye on it! Also, DO NOT forget to grease the pan--you'll regret it!! Then enjoy the fabulous fruits of your labor! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Søborg, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This was my first time making toffee, so I bought a candy thermometer and followed the instructions exactly and it came out great. I really kept it on a low to medium setting and cooked it slowly so it didn't burn. I also added the chocolate and nuts on TOP of the hot mixture. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Just made this recipe. It is awesome!! My chocolate chips didn't melt so well, but I put wax paper under the chocolate first, so I flipped it over and smoothed it a little with my hand to spread it out better and then stuck it in the freezer to harden it enough to just peel the wax paper away. Excellent recipe! I didn't have any trouble with the toffee part either. By the way, I stirred this the entire time it cooked. I do my peanut brittle the same way and it turns out perfect every time. This made a huge ziplock container as I spread it over a very large cookie sheet. I can not wait to take my candy bags to work and pass them around! Thanks for this one, it is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEBUGSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollandale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I've made this recipe for Christmas for the last 2 years, and everyone is completely addicted. It's crunchy, delicious, and so easy I'm making it RIGHT NOW and can sit here typing this review. Try it now! Okay, had to add one thing because I finally had a bad experience making this, after several times of perfect results. I actually burned the carp out of it! I had bought a new pan and it was fine for my caramels and fudge, which are stirred constantly, but I think it was too thin for the toffee, since you don't stir it. So I tried again in my old heavy pan, and it was perfect. I also addressed the non-melting-chocolate-chip problem by putting the pan of chips/nuts in the oven for about 5 minutes just as the toffee was nearing its 300 degree mark. It got the chocolate chips nice and melty ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I brought the toffee in as an addition to our office holiday party. Myself and coworkers love it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
easy and awesome recipe! Family and relatives loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This recipe worked just fine. Matter of fact it was wonderful. The key was once it came to a boil to continue boiling (toward the 300 degrees) at a low boil, so it doesn't burn. Also, I tried dipping the toffee pieces into melted chocolate chips, and it was a mess. Next time I will do what the recipe says... and spread the chocolate chips over the hot candy. And then sprinkle the chopped nuts (I used almonds) I do like chocolate on both sides (along with the nuts) so I'll flip over the candy once one side is dry and pour & spread melted chocolate bits on the flip side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

How to Melt Chocolate

Discover ways to melt chocolate evenly and smoothly.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States