Melt In Your Mouth Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Wow, what a delicious toffee. I made it on boxing day and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I don't have a sugar thermometer and checked it the old fashioned way in a saucer of water and it turned out brilliantly. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alberton, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
To make it TRULY Melt-in-your-mouth, add 3 tablespoon corn syrup and 3 tablespoon water to the butter before cooking. The corn syrup will stabilize the sugar and prevent graininess. The addition of water also helps the butter melt to produce a smooth, melt in your mouth toffee instead of the undesirable 'stick-to-your-teeth' feel. I received this toffee trick from a caterer and it truly works. Try it. (I also make just half the recipe: 2 sticks butter, 1.25 cups white sugar, 3 tablespoons each of water & corn syrup. Add 1 tsp. vanilla after mixture is done and off the heat.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I don't make this particular recipe,I have one that is simialar and end up making 10 batches or so each season, but after reading the reviews about the butter separating, I will tell you what I've found is that if you use an inexpensive brand of butter that will happen. I always buy the "good" butter to make candy and have never had a problem with it seperating...hope this helps...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Best Toffee Ever!!!! I made this last year for Christmas...everyone has requested that I make it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was pretty good. However, next time, I would definitely put the chocolate on top of the toffee. I left out the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Well, I am certainly not a chef but, so maybe I did something wrong...not only did I burn my All-Clad pan :-( But, all the smoke detectors in my house went off and the fire department showed up!!! My house stunk for a week. I will NEVER try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Simply fantastic!! Very addicting. This went over very well at our Holiday party. I did leave out the nuts because I don't care for the. Our family couldn't get enough of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is absolutely wonderful candy!! Make sure you make it on a cold, clear day. I live in the South and my first recipe was a disaster because of the humidity. I top with crushed almonds for a different taste or milk chocolate for a different taste! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I make this every Christmas and am asked for the recipe every time I make it. It is easy and delicious. I do have to use a copper bottom pot to avoid burning. Karen-Naomi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Excellent! I used mini chocolate chips and it worked great. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Pumpkin Seed Brittle

See how to make autumn’s perfect sweet snack.

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States