Melt In Your Mouth Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Melt In Your Mouth Delicious! Love using both white and brown sugars. I'm sure this would be delicious with any nut topping. I have made this with roasted almonds and salted roasted almonds and both were incredible! I wasn't sure about laying the chocolate and nuts down first as others noted the chocolate did not melt evenly so I put the toffee down first, waited about 1 minute then sprinkled the chocolate chips over the very warm toffee and let them sit for about a minute to soften and melt and then smoothed it out with a rubber spatula then sprinkled the warm melted chocolate with crushed nuts. This is my favorite and "go-to" toffee recipe! Thanks Ruth for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very buttery, and great tasting! I did think it was too thick, however, prepared in a 9x13 pan. Next time I make it I'll use a jelly roll pan and use more chocolate to accommodate the larger surface. Also, I didn't place chocolate on bottom of pan - sprinkled over top, waited a few minutes, then spread out after the chips had melted. I'll definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Thanks for all the reviews. I made the toffee twice and came out great both times. My only concern is how to store the toffee once you break it up. It seems to stick together at room temperature. Any help would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daschie
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I've made Toffee for years. Can't find my recipe, so thought I'd just try a few from this site, since I find so many good recipes here. This is my 2nd Toffee recipe to try and I had to really work hard not to stir while the Toffee was boiling (other recipes tell you to stir), and it only took 20 minutes for mine to reach the hard crack stage. It was so easy, and delicious! I did use a cast iron pot to cook in rather than the stainless steel I made the 1st batch in. Can't wait to make another one! Oh, I did place the almonds (after roasting) on the cookie sheet before pouring the hot Toffee and placed the chocolate chips on top of the Toffee and spread after a few minutes. I then topped with crushed alomonds for that Almond Roca look. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I followed the directions, exactly and at about 290 -300 degrees, the mixture got pretty black. The bottom of my pan was totally ruined. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Made this recipe for the first time, used pecans instead of walnuts, used choc. almond bark instead of chips, added some nuts right into sugar mix, & 1 teas. salt right before pouring onto pan. Need patience not to stir while waiting for mix. to come up to temp. Very good, everyone LOVED it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I really like this one better than the equal parts butter/sugar recipe. This is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Simple.. Tastey.. and truely Melts In Your Mouth. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by floridascrubtech
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
this recipe is very good tasting. i do believe next time i will use a bigger then 9x13 pan, as the toffee was a little thick for my taste. but is was still good. i read reviews and used the suggestion by one of the reviews saying to boil for 30-40 minutes without stirring, and it worked out just fine, as i do not have a candy thermometer. but this recipe is definetly worth making again, thank you from florida
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridascrubtech

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
this recipe doesnt work, I wasted 2 lbs of butter two times trying to make this recipe. grr makes me angry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettycoolme209

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

How to Melt Chocolate

Discover ways to melt chocolate evenly and smoothly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States