Melt In Your Mouth Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This recipe is amazing, but you should definitely read up on how to handle sugar if you aren't familiar with it (it's not that hard, there are just a few tricks). Speaking of tricks, I tried the one that MommyFromSeattle tried, but I replaced the corn syrup with molasses. I also sprinkled a little coarse salt in the pan along with the nuts (candy, chocolate and salt is always an amazing combo in my books). The recipe turned out perfectly! My only regret was cutting the recipe in half instead of making the full batch. Two huge thumbs up from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
according to one reveiwer, I added 3 TBS each water and corn syrup to the HALVED RECIPE-mind you that his calculations for 1 1/4c brown sugar were spot on- adding them along with the rest of the ingredients, made for an addictive recipe! THANK YOU FOR SHARING!!!! Everyone is mad at me for making them fat, but I never thought I'd be good at making candy so I keep making it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Marianne~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mashpee, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Melt In Your Mouth Delicious! Loved using 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar as called for. I'm sure this would be delicious with any nut topping. I have made this with roasted almonds and salted roasted almonds and both were incredible! I wasn't sure about laying the chocolate down first as others noted it did not melt smooth so I put the toffee down first, waited about 2 minutes, then sprinkled with the chocolate chips and let them sit for about a minute to soften and melt and then smoothed it out with a rubber spatula and then sprinkled the crushed nuts onto the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very buttery, and great tasting! I did think it was too thick, however, prepared in a 9x13 pan. Next time I make it I'll use a jelly roll pan and use more chocolate to accommodate the larger surface. Also, I didn't place chocolate on bottom of pan - sprinkled over top, waited a few minutes, then spread out after the chips had melted. I'll definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Thanks for all the reviews. I made the toffee twice and came out great both times. My only concern is how to store the toffee once you break it up. It seems to stick together at room temperature. Any help would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daschie
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I've made Toffee for years. Can't find my recipe, so thought I'd just try a few from this site, since I find so many good recipes here. This is my 2nd Toffee recipe to try and I had to really work hard not to stir while the Toffee was boiling (other recipes tell you to stir), and it only took 20 minutes for mine to reach the hard crack stage. It was so easy, and delicious! I did use a cast iron pot to cook in rather than the stainless steel I made the 1st batch in. Can't wait to make another one! Oh, I did place the almonds (after roasting) on the cookie sheet before pouring the hot Toffee and placed the chocolate chips on top of the Toffee and spread after a few minutes. I then topped with crushed alomonds for that Almond Roca look. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I followed the directions, exactly and at about 290 -300 degrees, the mixture got pretty black. The bottom of my pan was totally ruined. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Made this recipe for the first time, used pecans instead of walnuts, used choc. almond bark instead of chips, added some nuts right into sugar mix, & 1 teas. salt right before pouring onto pan. Need patience not to stir while waiting for mix. to come up to temp. Very good, everyone LOVED it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I really like this one better than the equal parts butter/sugar recipe. This is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Simple.. Tastey.. and truely Melts In Your Mouth. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

How to Melt Chocolate

Discover ways to melt chocolate evenly and smoothly.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States