Melt In Your Mouth Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Mmmmmmmm...I thought it tasted like a heath bar only better. I too used a jelly roll pan so it would be thinner. I also sprinkled the chocolate chips on after it was in the pan, let them melt a few minutes and then spread them out & sprinkled on the nuts. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I did not have the luck everyone else did. I like my toffee recipe better. The butter and the sugar never combined. My recipe uses cream so it marries the butter and sugars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Great recipe, but get ready to get some cavities. This is good, but very sweet! Can only eat a small amount at a time, but it eventually all goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Let me start by saying I am not a candy maker...but a WANNABE! The first time I tried the recipe, it was horrible...So like a good girl I came back and read the reviews...if first you don't succeed! I think the reason I had a hard time was that I hooked the candy thermometer to the pan, and received a false reading (as the first batch didn't get hard) SO...this time I held the thermometer, and also used the ice water idea that was suggested. I omitted the chocolate this time, and went with the nuts (JUST in case it didn't turn out) Well....I am SWELLED with pride! I turned out PERFECT (I burned the pan but who's counting THAT??) and it was the BEST toffee I've ever had, and my MOTHER IN LAW SAID SO TOO! Next time (maybe later today) I'll melt the chocolate on top as well...Thank you to EVERYONE for all the helpful hints! I feel like a REAL candy maker (for at least the moment)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
WOW! This beat out any commercial toffee I have ever had! I added finely chopped nuts in with the sugar mixture, and after spreading the toffee in the pan, I grated a Hershey bar over the top and popped the pan in the freezer for a few minutes. Absolutely worth the effort...insanely good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Good recipe, I used dark brown sugar as that is what I had. Thought at first it was burnt but it was the brown sugar. Tasted great, many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
My first time making ANY type of candy what so ever. So easy and so great. It was very hard not to stir the toffee mix once it began to boil but I held back. I used milk chocolate morsels instead as suggested by others and I also used chopped pecans. I would highly recommend that! I recieved rave reviews from everyone I gave this to saying they thought it was Almond Roca. I will definitly use this recipe again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Really good...I love toffee, and this was my first try at making it myself. I did spray the 9x13 with Pam to make sure it slid out with no problems. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINELIZ821

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
What a scary recipe for a non-candy maker. Don't stir after it boils? Can that be right? Well, apparently it is because the toffee turned out great! There was some burning on the bottom but I was just careful not to scrape it into the mixture - no burned flavor whatsoever. I read all the reviews before making it and pre-melted the chocolate, but used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet. I think it compliments the toffee instead of overpowering it. I also used a jelly roll pan (cookie sheet with a lip) & foil with good success. I added chopped almonds to the toffee before pouring - delicious! Next time I'll try pecans for a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This is an excellent recipe. I've made 10 batches in 2 days. I sprinkle the chips and nuts on top and spread when melted. I quit at about 295 degrees to make sure it doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Pumpkin Seed Brittle

See how to make autumn’s perfect sweet snack.

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States