Melt In Your Mouth Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This was fabulous. I have never made candy before. I omitted the nuts because we don't love them in desserts in our household. I spread this out in a jelly roll type pan and then put entire bar size plain Hershey bars on the top and sprinkled that with coarsely chopped Snickers bars. When the toffee itself had set and the toppings were melted I sort of spread them around. I omitted the choc chips too. It is VERY rich this way but not ONE BITE was left!!! Great holiday recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Wow! This recipe is great! I had never made toffee before and this recipe was very easy and the toffee was delicious! The toffee is very rich and decadent. I added one cup of almonds just before pouring into a jelly roll pan, then after letting the toffee cool for a moment, I melted milk choclate chips and poured it atop the toffee, then sprinkled more chopped almonds on top of the warm chocolate. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This toffee recipe was the best. Tasted better than a Heath Bar. Yummmm, Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This recipe was great! It was probably the easiest candy I have ever made. Everyone kept saying how great it tasted and how difficult it must have been. HE HE HE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Junkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Amaze your friends and impress your relatives with this very easy recipe. If you like Almond Roca you will love this toffee. Its flavor and texture are equal to or better than any other toffee I've ever tried. I've made it with various combinations of nuts and chocolate including: milk chocolate & chopped almonds, whole almonds only, and even plain with no additives. Like some other reviewers, I also stop it cooking at 295 so as not to burn the toffee and I cook it on as low a heat as possible while still maintaining a boil. You may want to consider printing several copies of this recipe because I guarantee you will be asked for it again and again. Thank you, Ruth, for sharing your marvelous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Mmmmmmmm...I thought it tasted like a heath bar only better. I too used a jelly roll pan so it would be thinner. I also sprinkled the chocolate chips on after it was in the pan, let them melt a few minutes and then spread them out & sprinkled on the nuts. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I did not have the luck everyone else did. I like my toffee recipe better. The butter and the sugar never combined. My recipe uses cream so it marries the butter and sugars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Great recipe, but get ready to get some cavities. This is good, but very sweet! Can only eat a small amount at a time, but it eventually all goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Let me start by saying I am not a candy maker...but a WANNABE! The first time I tried the recipe, it was horrible...So like a good girl I came back and read the reviews...if first you don't succeed! I think the reason I had a hard time was that I hooked the candy thermometer to the pan, and received a false reading (as the first batch didn't get hard) SO...this time I held the thermometer, and also used the ice water idea that was suggested. I omitted the chocolate this time, and went with the nuts (JUST in case it didn't turn out) Well....I am SWELLED with pride! I turned out PERFECT (I burned the pan but who's counting THAT??) and it was the BEST toffee I've ever had, and my MOTHER IN LAW SAID SO TOO! Next time (maybe later today) I'll melt the chocolate on top as well...Thank you to EVERYONE for all the helpful hints! I feel like a REAL candy maker (for at least the moment)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
WOW! This beat out any commercial toffee I have ever had! I added finely chopped nuts in with the sugar mixture, and after spreading the toffee in the pan, I grated a Hershey bar over the top and popped the pan in the freezer for a few minutes. Absolutely worth the effort...insanely good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Pumpkin Seed Brittle

See how to make autumn’s perfect sweet snack.

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States