Melt In Your Mouth Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
Excellent toffee! I made this for my Valentine's Day candy boxes and it was a huge hit. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quilting Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
The first time i made this i didn't follow the directions and i stired when it said not to because i figured it would burn if i didn't stir. but the directions are correct! it burns when u stir it because the second time i made it i followed the directions exactly and it turned out awesome! all my friends wanted the recipe! FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This turned out PERFECTLY! It was so delicious, it got eaten almost before I was able to get it out of the pan. Even my husband, who doesn't really like sweets, requested that I make it again. For those who have had trouble getting the toffee to set, it probably didn't get cooked long enough, a candy thermomiter is a must. And no stirring after the boiling stage. ;) You can check for donness by dribbling a little of the hot candy mixture into a glass of ice water. Once it's cooled, take it out and test it... it should be brittle and crunchy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
To spread the toffee, try using the cut side of a baking potato instead of an oily wooden spoon. The starches in the potato prevent sticking and the potato gives you a bit more leverage to press and push on the toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I made this twice both times it burned the bottom of my pan. What toffee I could salvage was good, but not worth scrubbing my pans for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hinckley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This recipe was so easy and it came out perfectly. I used almonds instead of walnuts, it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
This recipe is excellent!! No need to change anything. I have made this recipe several times around the holidays and cannot keep it in the house. I had a party one evening and everyone ate what was offered on the plates and continued to dig into the bags I had earmarked as gifts (when I wasn't looking) Thanks for your recipe Ruth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Excellent! I don't make homemade candy but I tried this recipe and it was so easy and is the best toffee I've ever tasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Excellent! Make sure to use 1 lb of butter (4 sticks) and if you have a ceramic top stove, I set mine on 3 1/2 and it turned out perfect. Ceramic tops heat higher, so go lower on the setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This is outrageous!! I used milk choc chips. Follow the directions and DO NOT STIR!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Pumpkin Seed Brittle

See how to make autumn’s perfect sweet snack.

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States