Melt In Your Mouth Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Like many others, I used a pan with more surface area, a 10" x 15" cookie sheet. I also put the chocolate chips on top of the poured toffee, spread them with a knife (give them a minute to soften) and sprinkled the nuts on top. I tried putting candy cane sprinkles on one half, but they just didn't go with the toffee as well as the nuts. I thought the toffee was still too think and difficult to eat. It got stuck in my teeth and I really wasn't a fan. Most folks that had some didn't seem to like it much either, but my mother couldn't stop eating it, so I'll be keeping the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I have made the same recipe in two different pots. One of them worked much better than the other. If it doesn't turn out or burns it could be your pot. Make sure you use a pan where the heat is distributed evenly. I stir mine so that no part of the mixture can sit on a part of the pot that is hotter than another. This is the most addicting candy I have ever made !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Anders

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TERESA_C
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was pretty easy as long as you have a candy thermometer...make sure the thermometer is halfway submerged in the mixture and not touching the bottom of the pan to get the most accurate reading. I have an electric coil burners and set the dial at just below 5. I was surprised at how long it took to get to the hard crack stage range on the thermometer once the boiling started, so hang in there! I used a 10x15 jelly roll pan lined with foil (I lightly buttered the foil) for a thinner toffee. And after it had cooled a bit, I sprinkled the chocolate chips in top, waited a few minutes, and then spread it. I sprinkled pecans on half and left the other half plain. Very pretty, very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. Tested my thermometer prior to making. The toffee didn't harden to hard crack. Tastes great but the texture is wrong. Going back to my old recipe. For fairness sake tried it again with the same result. :( OBTW... blue sky day with very little humidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is indeed a great recipe and not complicated at all... I will be busy making multiple batches for the upcoming festivities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Farney
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Is it ok to use this recipe for a cookbook I'm making?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I've made this 3 times already twice without chocolate and one with. Both are amazing! It's delicious enough to eat plain without chocolate! I will use this recipe all the time. Definitely a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Follow recipe exactly. My electric range had to be turned to LOW. If you cook it too fast or high heat, the butter will separate. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Checotah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
REally sweet goodness. I put some chocolate chips on the bottom and a little bit of peanuts too. then I melted some down and drizzeled on top and I add the rest of the chocolate chips on top. Everyone loved them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
HEAVENLY IGNORE ALL THE BAD REVIEWS!!!!! added a pinch of cocoa powder in with the nuts and chocolate chips!!! about a 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Pumpkin Seed Brittle

See how to make autumn’s perfect sweet snack.

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States