Melt In Your Mouth Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Everyone I make this for loves it soooooo much. This is my daughter's all time favorite thing that I make, ever since she was 2 she asks me to make this all the time. I change a few things that I think make it taste better and make it healthier. I use half whole wheat flour, and instead of coconut cream pudding mix I use 1 sugar free vanilla mix, and 1 sugar free butterscotch mix, also use half a cup of oil and half a cup of applesauce, I double the cinnamon, and I add a tsp of nutmeg, and I only use 1 1/2 cups of sugar instead of 2 cups, also I use 3 whole eggs and 2 egg whites and I whip them for about a minute with an electric mixer before adding to the batter. It also takes 15-20 minutes longer than the recipe says to cook. I know it is a lot of changes but it tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Awesome sweet bread! I've made this in a bundt pan. Bake for 1 hour + 15 minutes. After it has cooled, you can drizzle with a glaze of 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 Tbl butter, 2-3 Tbl milk. To reduce fat and maintain the moist texture, I cut the oil in half and replaced with natural applesauce. I've also added pumpkin pie spice. Sometimes I add almond extract. To cut this in half to make one loaf try: 1/3 cup oil 1/3 cup natural applesauce 2 large eggs 1 cup pumpkin puree 1 cup flour 1 cup sugar 1 box (3 1/2 oz) coconut cream pudding 1/2 tsp salt 1/2 tsp baking soda 1/2 tsp cinnamon 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice 1 tsp almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
The best recipe i've ever used. Literally melts in your mouth. I had to cook for a little longer than the specified time, but soo worth it. I also added a few extra spices to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was a moist bread but a little bland in comparison to other pumpkin breads that I have made, although it may be because I had to use vanilla pudding since I didn't have coconut pudding on hand. Next time I will try the recipe exactly and hopefully it will be a 5-star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This recipe is very good but with a few changes it can be a little healthier. I reduced the oil to one cup and use canola instead of vegetable oil. Canola has lots of mono and poylunsaturated fats that are better for you. Also, I used egg beaters instead of regular eggs. Also add 2 1/4 cups pumpkin instead of 2 cups and a little more cinnamon. We also used vanilla pudding instead of coconut and it is still delicious. It is by no means a lowfat snack but small changes can make a difference. Your family won't be able to tell the difference! I promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathermarie627

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Wonderful bread and so moist and I've passed the recipe on to those who I gave the breads to. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madaline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
good taste but somewhat dense and flat after cooling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
So good! I did as others suggested: double baking soda, cut oil to 1 cup, and a few sprinkles of nutmeg (next time I'll add a bit more)then I baked them in those Reynolds fun shapes for 15 minutes, wrapped them up, and put them with my Christmas baskets. Yum-my!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Soto, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This recipe is awesome. I made it to go along with our Thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it! The coconut pudding is wonderful. There's just a hint of the taste in there - definitely not overpowering. You need to try it before switching to vanilla pudding. I did follow some other reviewer's suggestions and added 2 tsp. of the baking powder. Also substituted half of the flour with whole wheat. The bread is very moist so I did cut down on the oil to just one cup. Added plenty of cinnamon and a little nutmeg for a tiny extra spice...it was fabulous. I even impressed my mother-in-law who is a great cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was probably the best pumpkin bread I have ever made. My 13 yr old son just loved it and this morning it was the first thing he asked for breakfast! The only thing I did differently was because I couldn't find coconut cream pudding mix, I used Vanilla pudding mix and threw in about 3/4 cup coconut and it turned out great. Oh and the other thing I did differently was I read the mixing directions wrong and mixed everything together at once...don't know if that made a difference or not. I will make this again and maybe add Craisins or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States