Melt In Your Mouth Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I added the baking powder and my bread still did not rise very much. I substituted 1/2 c. unsweetened apple sauce for 1/2 c. of oil and only used 1/2 c. oil for a total of 1 cup. Used 1 cup splenda and 1 cup sugar. Otherwise I followed the recipe. It has a good flavor but is VERY dense and EXTREMELY moist - which is not a bad thing. I have made other pumpkin bread that I like better so probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Although this had a great flavor. It was a little too oily for me. Next time I will decrease the amount of oil and try the applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Great bread...next time I think I will use a little less oil. All I had on hand was a can of Libby's pumpkin pie mix and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
We love pumpkin bread and with a few revisions of our own, this recipe was a serious hit! We made 8 loaves and took to neighbors. OUR VERSION: we replaced the 1 1/2 Cup of oil with two ripe bananas mashed and 1/2 cup of real butter softened. The loaves were beautiful, moist and loved by all! I added chopped walnuts to some for the people who love nuts it made this delicious bread even better! This recipe is a keeper. NOTE: We tried one batch with butterscotch pudding, 3/4 cup coconut, walnuts and butterscotch chips- It was amazing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morning Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was very good bread. even better when cooled. I followed the advice of some of the reviews but I used all applesauce & no oil at all. I also used 1 frence vanilla pudding & 1 sugar free vanilla pudding insted of coconut. It was great. And my husband who likes nothing "low fat" could not even tell the difference. It was VERY moist though so if you like a firm bread consistancy this might not be the one for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This recipe is very good!! My only reccomendation is using applesauce instead of oil. The first time I made it i used the amount of oil the recipe called for and it was way too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vizsla mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This is awesome. Best pumpkin bread I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This recipe was pretty good... The coconut adds an interesting texture, i thought i would taste the coconut more, so i was pleasently surprised. I forgot that other people said to add in some baking powder and I hadn't... And they still rose, just not by much. Very good, very moist, and dense. However, I might double the recipe, but use three boxes of pudding... Make them for christmas presents. It was a little bit TOO dense and moist for me. My boyfriend really likes it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Highland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
be sure to add 2 tsp baking powder to recipe so bread will rise. M kids love this bread. I use french vanilla pudding instead of coconut, like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGRIPP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
this was awesome...and i changed it alittle. i added 1 more egg and more pumpkin and cheescake flavored pudding.. i loved this recipe and so did my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States