Melt in Your Mouth Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Did not like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I used all buttermilk and all white sugar. These were ok, but nothing like my moms. I'm certainly not the best at candy making but this recipe was easy to follow. Glad I gave it a shot. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I followed instructions but had no luck with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I chose to use this recipe in spite of the bad reviews because I didn't feel that making this sort of thing in the microwave would turn out the way I wanted. I made some alterations- the most major being that I used walnuts instead of pecans, I also had no buttermilk on hand, so I substituted half and half, and also had no confectioners sugar, so just used white sugar. The result was good-quality candied nuts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was my first try with pralines. They worked brilliantly for me even with humid weather. The only thing I did differently was did not cool the mixture 10-15 minutes after adding the vanilla and baking soda. We stirred about 2 minutes and then added the pecans and it was already hardening as we were placing them on wax paper. The texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I used this recipe under ideal conditions and followed the directions precisely. The result was a total failure. The pralines were more like sugared pecans - grainy and gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTY BELOW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I believe some people are confused as to what REAL Louisiana Pralines are, and that they are VERY different from Texas Pralines. Louisiana Pralines (pronounced PRAWlines) ARE a bit gritty, where as Texas Pralines are chewy caramel. So before folks give low ratings, I think they should do their research on the authenticity of the food and these ARE Authentic LOUISIANA Pralines......Girl who lived in Louisiana!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5frys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Just made these and followed the recipe exactly. Easy but as with a previous reviewer they were dry within a minute of stirring in vanilla and soda, so much so that I ended up pouring the whole dry crumbling batch onto the lined pan and will probably use as a praline topping for ice cream. Great flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hope Mills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This turned out rock hard for some reason. I'm willing to try again though. It might have just been the cook. (my mother in law)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
There are a few problems with this recipe. Do not use confectioners sugar. The cornstarch turns it into a messy ball. Instead use all white if you prefer a lighter color or half brown, half white if you like them darker. Also, skip the soda if you do not like chalky pralines. If you skip the soda up the salt in the recipe to 1/4 teaspoon. Secondly, cut the pecans back to one cup otherwise you will have candied nuts. Don't forget to toast the pecans as this brings out their lovely flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States