Melt In Your Mouth Chicken Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Very delicious. I used 4 large chicken breast and omitted the eggs. I've been making this recipe for years. I generally serve this with steamed broccoli or green beans. A great dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I felt this recipe was easy to make & had plenty of flavor. I was concerned that it didn't have any veggies in it, I just served them on the side. My whole family liked it, even the sitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was a great way to use up leftover roast chicken. I added celery, carrots, and onions to make a perfect chicken pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This truly is a melt in your mouth chicken pie - even better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shawn
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I loved this recipe...even with a few substitutions. I omitted the soup and broth and made my own by boiling 4 chicken legs with thyme, bayleaf and crushed corriander seeds. I thicked with flour, and substituted sour milk for buttermilk (1 tbsp lemon juice in 2% milk. Yummy, light and great served with green beans and salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moxie19
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I snazzed this up my own way by first of all omitting the eggs. Just didn't sound right to me. I added in about 1 1/2 cups of frozen mixed veggies. Just the standard peas, corn, carrots and green beans. I also only used 1 cup of broth rather than 1 and 1/4. Just seemed like too much liquid to me. I also just poured the broth and condensed soup into the same pan as the chicken and veggies. Heating the soup seperately seemed like an extra un-needed step. As far as the dough portion I added in an extra 1/4th cup butter milk. Directions should say "spread over top" rather than "pour" the batter was way sticky. I also added in about 1/2 cup of grated cheddar cheese to the batter that made it delish with a nice golden brown crust on the top!!! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moxie19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
This was too buttery. I will give it a try another time because my daughter really liked. I'll just cut back on the butter. I left out the eggs and use vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I write reviews to remember what my family said. Hubby, who is a picky eater, said it was ok. Just told me to not put vegetables in it, which I thought would add a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanna be cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was great! I made my own chicken broth by boiling the chicken with onion, carrot, poulty seasoning, and parsly... and instead of using buttermilk I used whole milk... it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
OMG! Absolutely delicious! I didn't have a whole chicken, so I sauteed 4 frozen chicken breasts in 2 tsp. minced garlic and diced them before putting them in the pan. I also added some Italian seasoning and some poultry seasoning to the batter. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Oven-Fried Chicken II

See a delicious, healthier way to make fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States