Melt In Your Mouth Chicken Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Very delicious. I used 4 large chicken breast and omitted the eggs. I've been making this recipe for years. I generally serve this with steamed broccoli or green beans. A great dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I felt this recipe was easy to make & had plenty of flavor. I was concerned that it didn't have any veggies in it, I just served them on the side. My whole family liked it, even the sitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was a great way to use up leftover roast chicken. I added celery, carrots, and onions to make a perfect chicken pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This truly is a melt in your mouth chicken pie - even better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shawn
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I loved this recipe...even with a few substitutions. I omitted the soup and broth and made my own by boiling 4 chicken legs with thyme, bayleaf and crushed corriander seeds. I thicked with flour, and substituted sour milk for buttermilk (1 tbsp lemon juice in 2% milk. Yummy, light and great served with green beans and salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moxie19
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I snazzed this up my own way by first of all omitting the eggs. Just didn't sound right to me. I added in about 1 1/2 cups of frozen mixed veggies. Just the standard peas, corn, carrots and green beans. I also only used 1 cup of broth rather than 1 and 1/4. Just seemed like too much liquid to me. I also just poured the broth and condensed soup into the same pan as the chicken and veggies. Heating the soup seperately seemed like an extra un-needed step. As far as the dough portion I added in an extra 1/4th cup butter milk. Directions should say "spread over top" rather than "pour" the batter was way sticky. I also added in about 1/2 cup of grated cheddar cheese to the batter that made it delish with a nice golden brown crust on the top!!! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moxie19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
This was too buttery. I will give it a try another time because my daughter really liked. I'll just cut back on the butter. I left out the eggs and use vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I write reviews to remember what my family said. Hubby, who is a picky eater, said it was ok. Just told me to not put vegetables in it, which I thought would add a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanna be cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was great! I made my own chicken broth by boiling the chicken with onion, carrot, poulty seasoning, and parsly... and instead of using buttermilk I used whole milk... it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
OMG! Absolutely delicious! I didn't have a whole chicken, so I sauteed 4 frozen chicken breasts in 2 tsp. minced garlic and diced them before putting them in the pan. I also added some Italian seasoning and some poultry seasoning to the batter. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States