Melt In Your Mouth Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I substituted Domata Recipe Ready Gluten Free Flour & frozen blueberries & both worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razorback

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Farmington, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
This is a tasty cake, but way too complicated to make. I had already started mixing things before I realized that the recipe called for separating eggs and beating the egg whites separately. (A reminder to me to always read the recipe completely before starting!). I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13 pan. I cooked it about 15 minutes longer than the recipe said as it didn't appear done at the recommended time (and maybe I should have stayed with the recommended time as it was slightly dry). I will remedy the slight dryness by making a warm blueberry sauce to pour over it when I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Holland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I made this with mulberries and I added walnuts and it was very delicious! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
This is a decent base recipe for blueberry cake, although like some other reviewers have said it's a little bland as-is. I added about 1 teaspoon of lemon juice and the zest of a whole lemon, and I'm VERY glad I did - I think the cake would have been utterly boring without it. Blueberry and lemon nice complementary flavors. Next time I would add a lemon-sugar glaze on top before baking for a little extra sweetness and texture. I might also add a bit of sour cream to the batter for added smoothness and to enhance the lemony flavor. This cake recipe is very moist - "chewy" in a good way. It's also not overly-sweet, which I like in a dessert (I can pretend that it's healthy). I'd advise bakers to check this cake at 40 minutes, especially if you're using fresh (not frozen) blueberries - I checked mine at 45 minutes and it was completely done, I actually wish I'd taken it out a few minutes earlier. Yes, as other reviews have indicated, the batter is VERY thick (especially prior to adding the egg whites). Hopefully you have a stand mixer; I only have a hand-mixer, and the batter kept clogging up the beaters! I greased/floured the pan before adding the batter, but the cake stuck in the pan anyway. Perhaps more thorough flouring next time. A solid basic recipe that will allow you to "play" a bit with adding other flavors you like, if that's your thing. As a stand-alone recipe, it's slightly blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This is a wonderful recipe. I tweaked it a bit by adding cinnamon, zested an orange, 2tbls. of orange juice and orange extract. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Very very good! The whole family loved it and asked for seconds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Love this recipe. This cake came out so fluffy and light I couldn't believe it! I did add about an extra 1/2 egg white to the recipe plus added in a few tablespoons of light brown sugar into the 1/2 c that you cream with the butter. Also added 1/4 c chopped pecan pieces. This recipe worked great even with frozen blueberries! Tip my cake was finished at 45 mins..I actually wish I'd taken it out a few minutes earlier, so watch your time,depending on how hot your oven runs! Will be adding this to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is a great blueberry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
The cake was not that moist. It was like a muffin/cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I made this and it was awesome! I added a few more blue berrys my fiance' ate the whole cake in a couple days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj's recipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sandy, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States