Melt-away Strawberry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
absolutely divine! Been making this recipe for years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE245

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I'm a pastry chef and tried this new shortbread recipe. Good. Simple to make. Stored well for next day use. Try making berries the day before. Add 1.5oz of Chambord to berries. I've made this with frozen raspberries and blueberries when fresh berries are out of season. Mix strawberries with powdered sugar for a less grainy mix. Add some sweetened whipped cream on top for that perfect touch! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I GIVE UP! i tried making these shortcake 4 times already, but it keeps coming out horrible. NOt sure if they are supposed to be hard as a rock, but mine were. Plus there are so many different kinds of whip creams out there, which whipping cream are u supposed to use? i used whip cream in the tall can, cool whip in the plastic box AND whipping cream in the dairy section in the milk carton...with the first 2 they came out hard and with the whipping cream, the cakes were so sticky i couldnt even knead the dough! I dunno what im doing wrong, can someone let me know? :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
This recipe is great. I added a little vanilla to the shortbread and strawberries. The shortbread came out soft and biscuit-y after 20 minutes. Everyone wanted to eat the shortbread before the strawberries and cream were even added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
These were great! I substituted milk for the whipping cream when making the shortcakes. I'll probably use Cool Whip next time in place of the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
No one in my family really like this. I will keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
this is the best shortcake ever I have made this so many times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
This shortcake recipe is easy and amazingly tastey. I am sooo glad that I found it. Thank you. I also feel proud to be able to present this when entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
This was a great recipe! I made it when my future in-laws came to visit, and my fiance's dad, who is quite the baker, said it was the "best strawberry shortcake" he's ever had! I'll definetally make it again. I made it the night before which made assembly easy. I would use more strawberries and whip cream next time, as we used all of them for 4 of us. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
We made this last night and it was delicious! I loved the recipe for the biscuits and will never go back! The only change we made was that we used whipped cream from the can instead of making it. I think vanilla ice cream was be a great addition, as other reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States