Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by eBee
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
A simple and enjoyable cookie with a wonderfully fine texture and a slightly sweet, buttery flavor. More of a butter cookie than a shortbread, in my opinion, because the texture isn't at all coarse like traditional shortbread, and they're not quite as full-flavored. Regarding the ingredients and process behind these, I liked them more with an additional 1/4 cup of confectioner's sugar. Powdered sugar is more voluminous than granulated sugar, and 3/4 cup powdered is equivalent to 1/2 cup granulated by weight. I also found that the texture is best when the butter is whipped until nearly white and when the dough is beaten for at least 4 minutes--tough work with a hand mixer, but worth it. Additionally, if one desires to make the dough ahead, it is better to pipe or shape the dough on a cookie sheet and then refrigerate, rather than refrigerating the dough before shaping. The texture of the cookies was a bit heavier when the dough was refrigerated and then shaped and baked. These cookies are decent plain, and probably make a nice companion for hot coffee or tea, but they are a touch plain. I made my second batch more interesting. I drizzled some with dark chocolate and dressed others with melted vanilla chips and jimmies, which created a cookie reminiscent of classic circus animal cookies. Overall, enjoyable cookies, a little forgettable on their own, but quite good with a bit of accessorizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Easy to make. Great with different flavored icings. Tried Vanilla and peppermint. Suggestions include Butter Rum, Amaretto and almond. Will want to make again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I did made them, the first time ..i loved them,i also added vanilla flavour, and after i remake them 3 more times... I can't believe people here said they were not good..maybe some fat american shoudl just get an heart attack gabboling fat food..you poor obese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fab7228

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
4 stars because I had promised the kids we would make cookies, then realized I was out of eggs. So this recipe saved me. The cookies do melt in your mouth, I loved them while my husband felt they were bland. Super easy to make and I think next time I will dip them in chocolate to appease the old man. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Delicious! I love shortbread cookies. My family - not so much. So I just make a small batch occasionally to indulge. Tastes great with a good cup of coffee. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Fabulous and they really do melt in your mouth! Quick easy perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Haha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saratoga Springs, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Doesnt cook up like a cookie at all. Very crumbly in your mouth! Wont make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Very light, airy and they do melt in your mouth. Crisp outside with a light center. However, you NEED to put an icing or glaze on them, because without it, they are tasteless. I recommend mixing 1 cup confectioners' sugar, 1.5 teaspoon almond extract and 2 teaspoons milk. You'll have a little glaze left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I thought this recipe was absolutely amazing. I did need to watch the time on the baking to make sure that it achieved a lovely golden brown color. I did add 2 t. of maple syrup just to change things up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I just tried these, and they certainly hold up to their promise of melting in your mouth! That said, I would only recommend this recipe to people who aren't very big on sweets, as they are very bland in flavor. I even added some vanilla extract to mine and I still wasn't satisfied with the flavor. Perhaps that's something that comes with the territory of shortbread, though - I honestly wouldn't know, as this is the first shortbread I've tried. If you want a sweeter cookie, I suggest either looking elsewhere, or adding frosting or dipping them in chocolate. The recipe is VERY easy, and I was very pleased with how few ingredients it required. Overall, it's a good recipe, but it really depends on how sweet you do or don't like your cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 876) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States