Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Made these for New Years. Kids liked them, I felt they needed a little something. They tasted real floury to me. I may try to add an extract of some kind next time. They were really light and melt in your mouth, just did not enjoy the flour after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The recipe has too little flour, another 1/2 cup was called for. Also, add a little more icing sugar, it gives it more taste. It's better to have the mixture a little more stiff for a better biscuit. Also, instead of spooning the mixture onto the tray, it's better to roll the mixture on a little of the icing surgar (powdered sugar). You want to make sure that you only roll out to 3/4 inch and cut into squares. Place on tray then prick with a fork on top. This is the traditional shortbread!!. VJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
AMAZING! I crushed some candy canes and mixed them in one batch and added some "Lemon Bakery Emulsion" to another, then dipped the baked cookies in a little powdered sugar. Since there are no raw eggs in this recipe, you can "taste as you go" for the amount of flavor a person wants. You could also add some peppermint oil (food grade please) as well. If a person is expecting sweet, this is NOT the recipe for you. These are wonderful w/coffee and/or tea cuz they aren't sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Yum! I made these exactly as directed, only I doubled it (it only makes like 2 dozen cookies per batch), and I chilled the dough in the fridge for several hours before. I think this way it helped them keep more of a ball shape (which I wanted). Also, I baked these in 1-inch balls for about 12' at 350, until the edges were JUST starting to brown. I put red and green sprinkles on them for Christmas, but I think other modifications that other reviews suggest sound yummy as well. I've made these twice now, and I found that the more I whip the butter, the more "melt-in-your-mouth" they are. Thanks for this recipe, I never thought I would be able to make a cookie like this so easily! Also, these are way better the next few days after they cool and harden a bit. I didn't have any problems with them being too crumbly (although they are a bit fragile - I think the ball shape helps).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aneisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
The taste was great, but wayyyy to crumbly! I let it cool for 20 minutes and still crumbly. I followed this recipe to the T. Not liking it very disapointed :( I was looking forward on giving these to my Sunday school class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These are delicious. I added 1 tsp of salt to bring out the flavour, then baked at 350 for 10 mins! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
So disappointed in this recipe. I read all the reviews and don't know what I did wrong but they turned out terrible. Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is what I have been looking for!! I have been trying to find the perfect shortbread that just MELTS when it touches the tongue. This is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Very yummy, as others have said, these are best if you let it sit to cool BEFORE removing them from the cookie sheet, and also, they taste WAY better the next day. Mine was crumbly so I added 1 tsp almond extract and it did the trick. Wonderful cookies, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 924) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States