Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is what I have been looking for!! I have been trying to find the perfect shortbread that just MELTS when it touches the tongue. This is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Very yummy, as others have said, these are best if you let it sit to cool BEFORE removing them from the cookie sheet, and also, they taste WAY better the next day. Mine was crumbly so I added 1 tsp almond extract and it did the trick. Wonderful cookies, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These are so easy and are so buttery and yes, they fall apart in your mouth! Exactly what I was looking for. I made a chocolate glaze to drizzle the tops with, just for a little extra flair. I baked for 13 minutes and the bottoms are just barely golden brown. I could have left them in a little longer to darken, but I am satisfied with them as is. Also, I used a 1 1/4 in cookie scoop and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Exactly how they should taste and perfect texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Good recipe, but took off one star because 375 is too hot, I used 350, also I had to add a bit more sugar than stated. The method I used was as follows: Let butter soften to room temperature, then I whipped it for exactly 10 minutes with a hand-held electric mixer (whew!). I previous to this had sifted the dry ingredients together, then added the dry mix to the whipped butter in three stages, mixing and whipping for a minute or so in between. The dough is very soft and a bit sticky so it took a bit of fiddling to spoon it out in to small blobs on the cookie sheets (I used parchment paper over shiny metal baking sheets). The size of the cookies I decided should be bit-sized, so no breaking. I used a tableware teaspoon to scoop. I then pressed the blobs down lightly with a fork dipped in dry icing sugar (to avoid fork sticking). I decorated each cookie before baking with 1/4 pieces of red or green cherries (ones you get in a little tub in the baking isle). Everything turned out very well, and its true you must time things exactly to avoid the edges burning. I let the cookies cool 5 minutes before gently moving them off the baking sheet. Definitely these are melt in the mouth, and delicate, and not overly sweet. Cookies have a dusty yet fluffy mouth feel. The extra piece of sweetness, eg the candied cherries , or a tiny blob of sweet jam makes these cookies perfect. Result tasted just like shortbread my gramma used to make (she also used cornstarch in her recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
WOW! They really does melt in your mouth! I used a pastry bag and made little bite size cookies, any larger I think they would fall apart after the first bite. Instead of icing I sifted powdered sugar over these and it made them even more melty. Like others have said, you MUST cream the butter for 5+ minutes, it makes them light & fluffy. Next time I will try vanilla sugar in the mix, or put a dollop of jam on them before baking. It will be in my Christmas Cookies plates from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very light and fluffy when they came out. I added in chopped pecans when I added in the flour. I started at the nine minute mark and went from there. Every oven is different and mine worked out to 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherminator
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great dont change nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is amazing. Confession: I don't really like Christmas cookies all that much. It might because I've been waiting for something like to to come around. I've gifted them, brought them to parties and used them for exchanges. I don't do anything fancy, just drop them, bake them and present them! If you are shipping, don't whip too much. The stir setting on my KitchenAid does enough. They do "melt" more if you do the high speed blend on the end, however, they are still mouth-melting fabulous mounds of goodness without that step (and probably ship better). The KitchenAid mixing bowl is a lot easier to clean up after the whipped batch. Another difference is the less whipped ones (just using the stir setting) have a more smooth look to them. I'm not into them for their looks though. I'll look past aesthetics to get these mouth-watering delights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
i added macadamia nuts. Yummo!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimblyn Horton Begonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 885) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States