Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
These were OK. Not very sweet at all; more like a biscuit. I recommend making a lemon glaze for the topping. It brought out a lot of nice buttery flavor of the cookie. I wouldn't say this cookie "melts in your mouth"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buns N the Oven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I am not a fan. They are so very, very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I just made these cookies and they are really good. They are a perfect Christmas cookie and they do melt in your mouth. Such an easy recipe too. Next time I may sprinkle them with red and green sugar just another alternative to drizzling the icing on them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Don't know how everyone is making these but I used exact measurements and the mixture was very dry. Had to pick it out and roll it into a ball with my hands. Note to anyone else making this add more butter or something. Eventhough i did that they were still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Don.
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Ok, with very basic equipment, I was successful with this recipe. I had my doubts, after watching the video, but decided to use my hand held beater, it took a bit more time, but the results speak for themselves. Thank you to everyone who's comments inspired me to take this project on. I am going to get a few more kitchen tools. To all men, yes this is doable. Me, male and over sixty, and just like trying new cooking ideas. Everyone, just go for it. I am going to make and pass these out as my Christmas, personal gifts this year, with a link to this site. Thank you so very much. I hope my picture shows up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
soooo dry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I've made whipped shortbread before, to die for. This Christmas! I'm going to add dried cranberries and drizzle white chocolate on the top! Hope it works out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I'm so thoroughly confused over the super high ratings on this cookie. They baked up perfectly but have no flavor. Literally taste like butter and flour. So if you like eating butter and flour this cookie is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
As a heart attack and quad bypass survivor , with a sweet tooth and like trying new recipes , making them heart healthier , these were sooooooooo good. I cut the recipe in half , mixed 1/4c salted butter with 1/4c soft margerine , beat it like crazy , (lower cholestrol and fat , heart healthier). Then added 1/2 tsp vanilla , whipped it more. Added 1tbsp brown sugar , to the dry ingredients , mixed well. I then added the dry ingredients about 1/4 of it at a time to the whipped butter/margerine/vanilla combination , using the mixer after each dry addition. All ovens are a different , I baked them on parchment paper 15 minutes at 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer King
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I had to substitute the confectioners sugar by sending granulated sugar in my nutibullet and I completely forgot to whip the butter but you know what they still came out perfect! I also added some vanilla extract to taste. My room mates LOVE them and with how simple and cost effective they are to make these are great for those times you have a sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 904) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States