Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Doesnt cook up like a cookie at all. Very crumbly in your mouth! Wont make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Very light, airy and they do melt in your mouth. Crisp outside with a light center. However, you NEED to put an icing or glaze on them, because without it, they are tasteless. I recommend mixing 1 cup confectioners' sugar, 1.5 teaspoon almond extract and 2 teaspoons milk. You'll have a little glaze left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I thought this recipe was absolutely amazing. I did need to watch the time on the baking to make sure that it achieved a lovely golden brown color. I did add 2 t. of maple syrup just to change things up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I just tried these, and they certainly hold up to their promise of melting in your mouth! That said, I would only recommend this recipe to people who aren't very big on sweets, as they are very bland in flavor. I even added some vanilla extract to mine and I still wasn't satisfied with the flavor. Perhaps that's something that comes with the territory of shortbread, though - I honestly wouldn't know, as this is the first shortbread I've tried. If you want a sweeter cookie, I suggest either looking elsewhere, or adding frosting or dipping them in chocolate. The recipe is VERY easy, and I was very pleased with how few ingredients it required. Overall, it's a good recipe, but it really depends on how sweet you do or don't like your cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Make this recipe ALL the time - everyone loves them! At Christmas time we dip the top in melted white chocolate and the roll it in crushed up candy canes. Even plain though they are by far my favorite cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This is my first time making shortbread cookies. I lived them! I love the consistency, they crumble and melt in your mouth. You have to be very careful with baking times, as soon as you see the bottom edges get LIGHT brown, it means they're ready. usually 12 min. for me. I put a little piece of maraschino cherry on top of some of them. use the highest quality butter you can find, and butter is pretty much the only flavor these cookies have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
"Wow! These are actually really good." My friend and I saw the recipe and we had our doubts. We made them, and I have to admit they are to die for! I would recommend them to anyone who loves shortbread as much as I do! You wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
These are tasty little jewels. I added a little vanilla extract because I like the vanilla flavor. Also I rolled some into balls, made a thumb indent and filled with lemon curd before baking. Yum! Next time I need to double the recipe and share with the neighbors. Thank you for sharing this quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Really, really good. Loved this recipe and have used it a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
As so many others have stated, these truly do melt in your mouth! It is like eating a cloud (not that I have ever done that, but you know what I mean :)). As written, these are a lovely, not-too-sweet treat to enjoy with one's coffee or tea (or hot chocolate? Mmmm!). I baked them on my Sil-Pat until the edges were just brown, then removed them from the oven and let sit on the cookie sheet for about 10 minutes. I had no problems with them crumbling apart this way. I can only imagine the possibilities of various flavor combinations are endless. I made them as is, as I need the crumbs to use in a crust for another recipe. I think this recipe is going to be just perfect for that purpose, but I will make again and play around with flavors. Thanks for sharing Jennifer Wilton :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 880) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States