Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Good but could be a tad sweeter. Recipe on cornstarch box is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These are pretty good, but I added about 1-2 T brown sugar and I think they'd have been too dull without it. In addition, per other reviews and my own experience, they need to be baked at 350f for 9-10 minutes, not 375f for 12-15 minutes. That would make charcoal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I added an extra 1/4 cup brown sugar, very sweet cookies! I should have removed some confection sugar. Added 1 tsp vanilla but would be good either or depends on what you like. DO whip the butter for as long as you possibly can, I did 10 minutes then added cornstarch and icing, whip for another 5, vanilla and whip, then flour and whipped for another 5. Small cookies 350 degrees for 9 minutes. Large ones for 13 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
these turned out absolutely perfect for me! i added cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger which gave them extra flavor, i also baked them for a couple extra minutes and they did not burn at all. ill definitely be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Got rave reviews for this recipe from friends and family. My father said they tasted like something from his childhood that included buttercream icing layered between two cookies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipe is just wonderful. I always add just bit of almond flavoring to it simply because I love almond. I give these as gifts and people just rave about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Just made these and they are good, but not my mother in law's recipe (I wish I had her recipe!) which would be to me, a 4 or 5 star recipe. They had almost the right texture and almost the right flavour but not quite. I didn't find the rich butter flavour coming through enough for my liking though they *are* melt in your mouth if a little on the powdery side. That all said, I only have a cheap handheld mixer and so didn't have the luxury of whipping the butter for 20 min straight without blowing a fuse or the motor but it was white and creamy/light/fluffy after about 5-10 min of mixing on high so I think, should have been okay. Also, have to note, I turned my back for a second to measure the corn starch and my mixer which had been propped against the side of the bowl, slipped, fell and knocked the bowl to the floor, so I lost some of the butter but measured the flour/cornstarch the same. I only lost about 10% of the butter though, not sure how much of a difference that would make in texture and/or flavour but I would imagine it would affect it some. I'd try this again and possibly rate it higher but given my experience today I have to give it a 3. Adequate, a nice treat, fine to eat and even give away for Christmas (which I made them for, decorated with sprinkles and icing sugar, some with walnut pieces and some with chocolate chips pressed in), but not the most delicious I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I was skeptical with the cornstarch as well, but with the many suggestions of great cooks, I waited for them to cool before tasting these fabulous little treats. I can't wait to share them with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I don't bake very often and I find cookies intimidating. This was an easy and delicious recipe to follow. The cookies look like something someone else made :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Have tried this and though it does not have alot of flavour, adding other components like lemon zest, orange zest, crushed chocolate chips etc adds to it and makes them different using the same recipe. Don't underestimate its versatility.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 926) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States