Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I make hamentashen every year with a shortbread base. I thought I would try this recipe but I tweaked it by adding two ingredients. I added 1/3 cup fine chopped pecans and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. Whipped the butter 20 minutes and added the rest of the ingredients whipping it an additional 4 minutes on high. I floured my hands lightly and made a two inch ball putting it on parchment paper and shaped it into the triangle with an indented center needed for the jam. I used jam to fill the center and baked them at 375* for 12 minutes. They came out perfect. When cool I dusted the cookies with powdered sugar and have a tray of red plum, poppy seed and apricot filled hamentashen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cowgirl20135
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Oh my god! These cookies are yummy. I made mine with a gingerbread boy cookie cutter and chocolate chip eyes. O M G they were cute. My family and I had them for a snack. I would make these again. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
These are really nice and do melt in your mouth! I added 1/8 cup more icing sugar as one poster suggested, as well as 2tbsp of lemon juice to give it a gentle lemon flavour. The lemon juice also helped make the mix easier to pipe through an icing bag with star tip. Love this recipe. So simple too! Will use again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Amazing.... My fiance is very picky and he loved them. One thing I did was putting the mixture in a piping bag with a big tip. Is hard to squeeze at first but they came out sooo beautiful, is less messy and sooo worth it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This recipe, is fast, quick and awesome. Day and night difference, when you use unsalted butter, that the recipe calls for....my "dough" didn't drop by the spoonful. However, I was able to measure by the spoonful and roll each in a soft ball, before placing on "parchment paper" . They all cooked evenly and was easy to remove. The only way I use a cookie sheet or cake pan, is if, it is covered with parchment paper. Good thing to remember is; if you see a little golden brown at the base of the cookie, it is time to remove them. The warm cookie will set and harden once it cools. Oh yes... I drizzled hot chocolate icing over mine and was in heaven..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Delicious, easy, and delightfully simple. The perfect not-too-sweet cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made these twice and added in 2-3 t. of vanilla extract each time and next time I would likely up it to 1 T of vanilla paste. The first time I made them, they stayed puffed up. The second time I made them they flattened out into thin disks (probably because I didn't use enough cornstarch). Both times they were fantastic! I'm not sure why the recipe wouldn't call for vanilla in the first place...I imagine they would taste quite plain without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Once I figured out that it's not possible to make these with powdered butter, the results were awesome. Don't take shortcuts, and your shortbread cookies will float like air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Made these for New Years. Kids liked them, I felt they needed a little something. They tasted real floury to me. I may try to add an extract of some kind next time. They were really light and melt in your mouth, just did not enjoy the flour after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 923) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States