Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Good recipe, but took off one star because 375 is too hot, I used 350, also I had to add a bit more sugar than stated. The method I used was as follows: Let butter soften to room temperature, then I whipped it for exactly 10 minutes with a hand-held electric mixer (whew!). I previous to this had sifted the dry ingredients together, then added the dry mix to the whipped butter in three stages, mixing and whipping for a minute or so in between. The dough is very soft and a bit sticky so it took a bit of fiddling to spoon it out in to small blobs on the cookie sheets (I used parchment paper over shiny metal baking sheets). The size of the cookies I decided should be bit-sized, so no breaking. I used a tableware teaspoon to scoop. I then pressed the blobs down lightly with a fork dipped in dry icing sugar (to avoid fork sticking). I decorated each cookie before baking with 1/4 pieces of red or green cherries (ones you get in a little tub in the baking isle). Everything turned out very well, and its true you must time things exactly to avoid the edges burning. I let the cookies cool 5 minutes before gently moving them off the baking sheet. Definitely these are melt in the mouth, and delicate, and not overly sweet. Cookies have a dusty yet fluffy mouth feel. The extra piece of sweetness, eg the candied cherries , or a tiny blob of sweet jam makes these cookies perfect. Result tasted just like shortbread my gramma used to make (she also used cornstarch in her recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
WOW! They really does melt in your mouth! I used a pastry bag and made little bite size cookies, any larger I think they would fall apart after the first bite. Instead of icing I sifted powdered sugar over these and it made them even more melty. Like others have said, you MUST cream the butter for 5+ minutes, it makes them light & fluffy. Next time I will try vanilla sugar in the mix, or put a dollop of jam on them before baking. It will be in my Christmas Cookies plates from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very light and fluffy when they came out. I added in chopped pecans when I added in the flour. I started at the nine minute mark and went from there. Every oven is different and mine worked out to 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherminator
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great dont change nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is amazing. Confession: I don't really like Christmas cookies all that much. It might because I've been waiting for something like to to come around. I've gifted them, brought them to parties and used them for exchanges. I don't do anything fancy, just drop them, bake them and present them! If you are shipping, don't whip too much. The stir setting on my KitchenAid does enough. They do "melt" more if you do the high speed blend on the end, however, they are still mouth-melting fabulous mounds of goodness without that step (and probably ship better). The KitchenAid mixing bowl is a lot easier to clean up after the whipped batch. Another difference is the less whipped ones (just using the stir setting) have a more smooth look to them. I'm not into them for their looks though. I'll look past aesthetics to get these mouth-watering delights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
i added macadamia nuts. Yummo!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimblyn Horton Begonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Good but could be a tad sweeter. Recipe on cornstarch box is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These are pretty good, but I added about 1-2 T brown sugar and I think they'd have been too dull without it. In addition, per other reviews and my own experience, they need to be baked at 350f for 9-10 minutes, not 375f for 12-15 minutes. That would make charcoal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I added an extra 1/4 cup brown sugar, very sweet cookies! I should have removed some confection sugar. Added 1 tsp vanilla but would be good either or depends on what you like. DO whip the butter for as long as you possibly can, I did 10 minutes then added cornstarch and icing, whip for another 5, vanilla and whip, then flour and whipped for another 5. Small cookies 350 degrees for 9 minutes. Large ones for 13 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
these turned out absolutely perfect for me! i added cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger which gave them extra flavor, i also baked them for a couple extra minutes and they did not burn at all. ill definitely be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 881) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States