Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
So easy! Used another user's recommendation to only bake for 9 minutes. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMX6BOYS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
great whipped shortbread. they are truly melt in your mouth. As another reviewer states though, beat the tar out of your butter first ( at least 20 Minutes). Will be making these every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Devon, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
edible but won't make again. bland even w/ chocolate chips in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
These tasted amazing.. too bad I had to eat them from a bowl with a spoon! Followed recipe to the letter and ended up with cookies that couldn't even be picked up, they just disintegrate in your hand. Melts in your mouth, sure.. if you can get it that far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Ess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This is a very tender, delicately flavored butter cookie, and quite delicious. If you want a bit more flavor, go ahead and throw in a teaspoon of your favorite flavor of extract. I've made these cookies many times and sometimes I make them as written, other times I throw in either Mexican vanilla, almond or lemon extract. they are delicious with or without the extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crashkimoto
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
So delish...I added a little extra sugar as suggested.... a hint of cinnamon and some orange rind. I then piped it on to PARCHMENT paper. 375 for 9 minutes. Turned out beautiful, didn't crumble at all and melted in my mouth! mmmmmmm And so SUPER easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crashkimoto

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Definitely melt in your mouth. Shortbread tastes good but a bit too soft for me. I prefer a cookie with some crunch when I bite into it. I didn't mix for 15-20 mins like other reviewers suggested, but just mixed the butter till fluffy as the recipe indicates. I used butter at room temperature which probably results in the same as mixing for 15 mins. Bake at 350° on parchment paper for exactly 9 mins and you will get a perfectly golden bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eBee
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
A simple and enjoyable cookie with a wonderfully fine texture and a slightly sweet, buttery flavor. More of a butter cookie than a shortbread, in my opinion, because the texture isn't at all coarse like traditional shortbread, and they're not quite as full-flavored. Regarding the ingredients and process behind these, I liked them more with an additional 1/4 cup of confectioner's sugar. Powdered sugar is more voluminous than granulated sugar, and 3/4 cup powdered is equivalent to 1/2 cup granulated by weight. I also found that the texture is best when the butter is whipped until nearly white and when the dough is beaten for at least 4 minutes--tough work with a hand mixer, but worth it. Additionally, if one desires to make the dough ahead, it is better to pipe or shape the dough on a cookie sheet and then refrigerate, rather than refrigerating the dough before shaping. The texture of the cookies was a bit heavier when the dough was refrigerated and then shaped and baked. These cookies are decent plain, and probably make a nice companion for hot coffee or tea, but they are a touch plain. I made my second batch more interesting. I drizzled some with dark chocolate and dressed others with melted vanilla chips and jimmies, which created a cookie reminiscent of classic circus animal cookies. Overall, enjoyable cookies, a little forgettable on their own, but quite good with a bit of accessorizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Easy to make. Great with different flavored icings. Tried Vanilla and peppermint. Suggestions include Butter Rum, Amaretto and almond. Will want to make again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I did made them, the first time ..i loved them,i also added vanilla flavour, and after i remake them 3 more times... I can't believe people here said they were not good..maybe some fat american shoudl just get an heart attack gabboling fat food..you poor obese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkiceguy7228

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 924) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States