Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This is a very tender, delicately flavored butter cookie, and quite delicious. If you want a bit more flavor, go ahead and throw in a teaspoon of your favorite flavor of extract. I've made these cookies many times and sometimes I make them as written, other times I throw in either Mexican vanilla, almond or lemon extract. they are delicious with or without the extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crashkimoto
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
So delish...I added a little extra sugar as suggested.... a hint of cinnamon and some orange rind. I then piped it on to PARCHMENT paper. 375 for 9 minutes. Turned out beautiful, didn't crumble at all and melted in my mouth! mmmmmmm And so SUPER easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crashkimoto

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Definitely melt in your mouth. Shortbread tastes good but a bit too soft for me. I prefer a cookie with some crunch when I bite into it. I didn't mix for 15-20 mins like other reviewers suggested, but just mixed the butter till fluffy as the recipe indicates. I used butter at room temperature which probably results in the same as mixing for 15 mins. Bake at 350° on parchment paper for exactly 9 mins and you will get a perfectly golden bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eBee
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
A simple and enjoyable cookie with a wonderfully fine texture and a slightly sweet, buttery flavor. More of a butter cookie than a shortbread, in my opinion, because the texture isn't at all coarse like traditional shortbread, and they're not quite as full-flavored. Regarding the ingredients and process behind these, I liked them more with an additional 1/4 cup of confectioner's sugar. Powdered sugar is more voluminous than granulated sugar, and 3/4 cup powdered is equivalent to 1/2 cup granulated by weight. I also found that the texture is best when the butter is whipped until nearly white and when the dough is beaten for at least 4 minutes--tough work with a hand mixer, but worth it. Additionally, if one desires to make the dough ahead, it is better to pipe or shape the dough on a cookie sheet and then refrigerate, rather than refrigerating the dough before shaping. The texture of the cookies was a bit heavier when the dough was refrigerated and then shaped and baked. These cookies are decent plain, and probably make a nice companion for hot coffee or tea, but they are a touch plain. I made my second batch more interesting. I drizzled some with dark chocolate and dressed others with melted vanilla chips and jimmies, which created a cookie reminiscent of classic circus animal cookies. Overall, enjoyable cookies, a little forgettable on their own, but quite good with a bit of accessorizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Easy to make. Great with different flavored icings. Tried Vanilla and peppermint. Suggestions include Butter Rum, Amaretto and almond. Will want to make again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I did made them, the first time ..i loved them,i also added vanilla flavour, and after i remake them 3 more times... I can't believe people here said they were not good..maybe some fat american shoudl just get an heart attack gabboling fat food..you poor obese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkiceguy7228

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
4 stars because I had promised the kids we would make cookies, then realized I was out of eggs. So this recipe saved me. The cookies do melt in your mouth, I loved them while my husband felt they were bland. Super easy to make and I think next time I will dip them in chocolate to appease the old man. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Delicious! I love shortbread cookies. My family - not so much. So I just make a small batch occasionally to indulge. Tastes great with a good cup of coffee. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Fabulous and they really do melt in your mouth! Quick easy perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Haha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saratoga Springs, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Doesnt cook up like a cookie at all. Very crumbly in your mouth! Wont make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States