Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This a variation on the Melting Moments cookies from the yellow Argo Cornstarch box of the early 1980s.. that my children LOVED and are now making for their families! Genius recipe! use good (sifted) cocoa for about half the flour for true melting magic... or sub a good quality peanut butter for half (or more) of the butter (DO NOT USE MARGARINE) and they become a bite of heaven. Easily tinted to match a bit of extract for different flavors, and with or without frosting, sprinkles, etc. they are wonderful, easy, and convince your children, grandchildren, friends (and anyone else lucky enough to grab a couple) that you are a kitchen faery queen! Use real butter, beat and beat, parchment paper helps a lot, and a small scoop is the world's BEST kitchen investment... cook magic and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Turned out terrific! An easy recipe that my whole family raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
My mom made these every Christmas (she is now 90) and I have now taken over the tradition - however we have never used corn starch - I also dip them in melted chocolate or melted butterscotch chips - yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Omg! This was awesome!! I have never made shortbread before so I was a little worried about gettingit right. i made sure to whip the heck out of the butter as many reviewers said. To do. They turned out wonderful. I wasn't sure if they would be very flavourful so I added white chocolate chips and cranberries, but I wouldn't add them again. This recipe is perfect just the way it is! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Easiest recipe ever I make a drizzle icing made of apple juice and icing sugar with a dash of cinnamon. I made these for a football party and they were gone in no time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seonaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nataliette Tan
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
i halved this recipe to try making a batch and it was PERFECT. this is my 3rd shortbread attempt and after trying 2 other recipes (both of which frankly tasted good — but like butter cookies), this recipe is The One. cornflour was really the secret ingredient to transform the texture and taste from simple butter cookies to shortbread with its classic powdery melt-in-your-mouth texture, with a sweetness that isn't too overpowering yet still savoury. two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nataliette Tan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
So easy! Used another user's recommendation to only bake for 9 minutes. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMX6BOYS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
great whipped shortbread. they are truly melt in your mouth. As another reviewer states though, beat the tar out of your butter first ( at least 20 Minutes). Will be making these every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Devon, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
edible but won't make again. bland even w/ chocolate chips in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
These tasted amazing.. too bad I had to eat them from a bowl with a spoon! Followed recipe to the letter and ended up with cookies that couldn't even be picked up, they just disintegrate in your hand. Melts in your mouth, sure.. if you can get it that far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Ess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 920) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States