Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
The flavor and texture of this cookie were not pleasant. Felt like eating mostly flour/starch. I used gluten free flour. Could that be the problem? Will not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
wow. what a delicious shortbread. the flavor is so buttery, and the texture is wonderful! They literally do melt in your mouth. The dough goes through a press so easy, and I used the stencil that creates a 'railroad track' type shape. Because the shape I produced was a very thin one, they didnt take quite the time specified in the oven. They do need to be watched because they brown quickly. I had one little ball of dough left over that wouldn't go through the press so I just added it to the sheet but I liked the flavor and texture of the thin crisp type shortbread better. thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Perfect with no changes. I whipped the butter for 10 min, mixed in the rest of the ingredients for 4 minutes and was able to pipe them (be ready to squeeze!) with a very large Wilton 6B tip. Tinted them green and put on a dot of white chocolate to hold a french dragee. They looked adorable, perfect for a cookie exchange, super easy, yet they added such pretty touch to the tray! I baked them 5 min, turned the tray added 2 minutes more and done! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
yup i tried it, i like it so much... the recipe stated that confectionery sugar but i use caster sugar to 1/4 cup. the result not so sweet... hmmm i like it, my family also like it alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
They are just ok. They are kind of dry so maybe I didn't do something right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbrown7k
Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
My new favorite cookie I think. Especially with a drizzle of lemon glaze on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This recipe is fabulous. The key is to whip it for a really LONG time. I also add two packages of vanilla sugar which gives it a little twist, and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by masher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
My Oh My! This recipe is definitely melt in your mouth good. I made the recipe exactly as written except I was about 1 1/2 Tbsp short on cornstarch, so I added an extra 1 1/2 Tbsp confectioners sugar. I did take advice from other reviewers and whipped the butter for 10 minutes before adding the other ingredients, then whipped everything together for another 10 minutes. My husband who is NOT a cookie, dessert kind of guy ate 2 of these as soon as they were cool enough for me to give them to him. I was making a quick dinner as these baked and before I could get dinner done he was sneaking 2 more. The next morning when I asked if he was ready for breakfast, he said I'll take 5 of those cookies please. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I didn't find these as amazing as others, unfortunately. I whipped the butter for 15 minutes as someone else suggested and kept everything else the same, other than rolling in sprinkles and pressing flat. The taste was off. Almost like too much corn starch or something. It was definitely lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
they do not melt in your mouth, this is the first recipe from this site that didn't work out...:( still love the site :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 924) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States