Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I'm not usually a fan of shortbread but was making a batch for a friend who is, and I was surprised at how light these turned out - they really did melt in my mouth :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I screwed up big time. My family recipe for shortbreads has been passed down through the generations. And I lost the index card the month after I got it. But this recipe is exactly the same! They couldn't tell the difference, and we're huge baking snobs. These are amazing cookies, just add some vanilla and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I've made this recipe multiple times, I don't bother with any other kind of shortbread. It's super good, and the texture is perfect. I like to add vanilla or almond extract to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I've baked many varieties of cookies thru the years as gifts for Christmas. This year I tried this recipe as 1 of my 8 I baked. I'd never attempted shortbread before. These are EXTREMELY TENDER cookies. I stored them in an airtight plastic container after baking, layered between wax paper. When I opened container to start packaging cookies separately as gifts next day I noticed most cookies had broken apart (I used cookie press to make them pretty). Very disappointed, these cookies were not durable. I felt the flavor was ok, better after they sat a day (3-4 star rating). Gave this a 1 star because the cookies I made crumbled, wasting time, money, and resulted in few cookies to gift. In the few I was able to gift, I only heard one person enjoyed this cookie. I won't attempt this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Easy to make, cleanup is a breeze. Just not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Very good cookies, they are a bit crumbly but much softer than the shortbread cookies I am used to. Quite similar to butter cookies, the taste is a bit plain, I wouldn't add vanilla, I think that might take away from the cookie, but I think some icing or sprinkles might be in order. Simple, easy to do recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Delicious! my friends and family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made the recipe as is and it turned out fantastic. Lots of people asked for the recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This recipe was really great! I just made little balls out of the dough flattened them out with the bottom of a glass that I dipped in flour. I added some candied cherries prior to baking, and once cool, I drizzled with chocolate and Christmas sprinkles...sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was a great recipe. It was very easy and tasted great. I used unsalted butter. When they were finished I let them cool and the kids decorated them with icing and sprinkles which sweetened them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 880) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States