Mel's Crab Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
I will never have to buy crab salad again! I loved the taste of the sauce. I probably cut back the mayo a little from what the recipe calls for, but I did not measure exactly. I also used green onions instead of parsley. The tip in another review of using a potato masher to separate the crab flakes worked excellently and I just mixed the whole salad with that. I look forward to making this many more times! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This is full of flavor! We aren't crazy about celery so I very finely chopped red and green pepper for the crunch the celery would have given it. This will definitely be one of my go to salads for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ader2005@aol.com
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
This turned out delicious! I replaced the mayo with olive oil mayo and added 2 tsp chives and some old bay seasoning. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
This was amazing. Does anyone remember trying this for the first time and loving it? well this takes you right back. This will be my go to recipe for a great summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coffee Karma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
This dip is fabulous! I made it for a potluck at work and was asked for the recipe by at least a dozen people....not too shabby considering there are only about 25 people in the department! Super easy to make- I took the advice of one reviewer who suggested layering the imitation crabmeat in a bowl and adding the rest of the ingredients on top and then mashing/cutting/mixing it all together. I'm too lazy to shred crab and (I must admit) using a knife and a spoon to mush it all up was kind of therapeutic. I also took the advice of another kind reviewer who implied that more parsley = more happy. Served with Ritzy type crackers and all of a sudden...my co-workers weren't half as terrible as on a non-dip days and I'm sure they felt the same about me. Is it possible for a dip to improve lives? Bond people together? Create harmony? I don't know..but if it is..this is the dip I'm bringing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
This is such a basic simple recipe and it is a great "base" as some have said. You can customize it so easily. I did everything from the original except: I didn't add sugar (i simply forgot) and added some old bay seasoning and just a tad bit of sweet bell pepper. I served it on a bed of fresh lettuce. It is perfect! Any tweaking and it can be perfect for all tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
My husband is from Baltimore MD so he loves crab salad and me being a country girl not much on crab but this recipes change my mind very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This recipe is really good. I did omit the parsley and served this dish after chilling it. Chopped the imitation crab, added vidalia onion, green pepper & celery, all chopped fine. I used a little more Miracle whip than the fat-free ranch dressing and a smaller amount of sour cream.No sugar needed. This is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
As written it was too bland. After adding red bell peppers, carrots, green onions, old bay, pinch of curry and cayenne and minced garlic it was just OK for us. I did omit the sugar because the "crab" was sweet enough. Maybe next time I'll try to make it into a cheesey hot dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Love this recipe. I, too, used some Old Bay seasoning. Instead of parsley, I added fresh Dill (just because I had fresh Dill on hand and happen to love the freshness Dill adds). I added all the ingredients in my Kitchen Aid mixer and let the mixer shred my crab and mix all at once. Love that mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States