Mel's Awesome Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Definitely a cake, not brownies. But VERY GOOD! I added, 3/4 c. cocoa (instead of 1/3) Vanilla All I had was almond milk (no buttermilk) so I used that. Very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPEARL20
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This is what I call a Texas Sheet Cake, not brownies. There are better sheet cake recipes out there than this, but having said that, this is super easy and pretty decent. Next time I would probably add a dash of salt to the batter and some vanilla. You can sub sour cream for the buttermilk, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Cake-like texture, neither too sweet nor too chocolatey. My kids ate them with whipping cream instead of frosting and the pan was clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
These were soooooooo good! I just made a couple of adjustments! Used 3/4 cup of cocoa & milk instead of buttermilk! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I loved this recipe, very like cake taste, but what is a 'Texas Brownie'?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I have been making this cake for years. This is actually a buttermilk cake recipe as well. The froasting is not supposed to be thick. You should cut the cake while it is still warm, and then pour the froasting over top letting it seep into the cake. I have many requests for this cake. It isn't a normal chocolate cake recipe but it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Brownies? I agree with other reviewers- this tasted like cake. Although it was good, I would have preferred brownies...The icing was the best part about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I am really not sure why this is a recipe for brownies. It's a chocolate cake with chocolate icing and I have to say that it did not get very good reviews in our house. Ice cream makes it a little better so we'll have to get extra plump with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This is actually a delicious cake recipe I've usually seen as "Texas Cake". However, I wouldn't call them brownies at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
Good, easy to make but very much like chocolate cake. If you prefer a more fudge like brownie then skip this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States