Melody's Corn Maque Choux Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Hubs is in LA and I’m home by my lonesome. As the saying goes, “When the cat’s away, the mice (make that mouse) will play.” Dinner for me tonight was something I could never make if Hubs was home. Halibut? Nope – he doesn’t care for it. Corn? Not with his sensitive innards. This corn maque choux, which I confess I was not familiar with, was just the thing for me to make tonight with the halibut. Other than using chicken broth rather than beef, and cooking it WAY less time than the directed (whoa!) 20 minutes, I prepared this following the recipe fairly closely, but not measuring precisely. It’s a pretty dish with lots of flavor, the humble vegetables enhanced and made better by, I might add, the bacon, fresh thyme, Creole seasoning and garlic. This turned out to be just the right choice to serve with Baked Halibut with Crispy Panko, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This was just utterly fantastic! I could not find a recipe and I even posted on Facebook, Allrecipes themselves helped me find this fantastic one ! I did everything exactly ( Well, I added an extra piece of bacon ) and it was just great! Everybody should try this recipe at least once and try for themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
My husband make a Thanksgiving lunch for 20 people at his manufacturing plant. They asked him to make jambalaya because they all love his recipe. I found this recipe for him to serve as a side dish, and it tastes fabulous! He will have to make this again so I can have a big portion instead of the tiny spoonful I was allowed this morning. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Great recipe, and easy to make. Mostly I stuck to the recipe, but as suggested in the Allrecipes magazine, I used 6 slices of bacon. I also used about 24 ounces of corn, instead of 20. I will certainly be making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I really liked this! I used a yellow pepper vs. celery because I thought it would blend in with my Mardi Gras theme better!! I didn't use the bacon only because I have vegetarian friends. I know it will be that much better with the bacon though! I also used cajun seasoning vs. creole because I wanted more spice. Thanks Dumplin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Awesome! Made for a work party and this was the only thing that had no leftovers and I made a double batch! I used a good slab bacon with nice smokiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I doubled this recipe for a potluck dinner. I used 1/2 tsp. Creole seasoning and thick sliced bacon. It is absolutely delicious! Since it calls for freshly chopped parsley, I filled a baggie with my fresh cut parsley and tucked it in my purse to be sprinkled on just before serving. When I opened my purse after the meal, there it was. No harm done. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Recipe Group selection 2/2/12. We liked this so well I made it twice this week. The first time I followed the recipe faithfully and that would have been rated 3.5 - 4 stars, but to be fair I have had this in NOLA at the restaurant Court of Two Sisters in the French Quarter and that was what I was measuring against, but I thought with a few small changes this could be as good. So my changes were to use a Fresno pepper for the red and a Jalapeño for the green and replace the beef broth with chicken. I also omitted the added salt, the bacon had enough for our taste. Then I tossed 8 or 10 shrimp in for the last few minutes of cooking, oh and I used about a full tsp of homemade Creole seasoning. It still wasn't what I remembered but the little extra kick was well received bu my family. Thanks, Melodie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 02, February 2013 ~ We enjoyed this side dish very much. I didn’t have Creole seasoning, so I made up “Creole Seasoning Blend” from AR to use in this dish. I had fresh corn that we froze during the summer so I used that instead of store-bought frozen corn. We loved everything about this dish, from the sautéed vegetables to the seasoning to the taste of the corn itself. I served this with hot ham and cheese sandwiches and a salad. I knew that there would be leftovers, so I added the bacon right before serving so it wouldn’t get soggy. Thanks Melody for sharing your recipe, it is a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made this recipe for the weekly recipe group selection. I've never had this dish before so can't really compare it to others. We enjoyed it, my son really loved it. I didn't simmer the veggies as long, we like a bit of crisp to them. Served up with some grilled Cajun Chicken from this site, a great pair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Bacon-Wrapped Corn on the Cob

Corn and bacon are grilled together in this perfect summer dish.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Jamie's Sweet and Easy Corn on the Cob

Quick and easy recipe for boiled corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States